AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
kickhead70
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 21 of 60 (1,931 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 12:43 PM in reply to: brent.morris

Interesting that the issues of search paths, etc. when working with LAN & WAN deployments should come up.  One of the very first things I did to try to increase my system performance was to move all company standards locally and eliminate all network paths from anything that AutoCAD is looking for. There are many times when I'll check out a license, grab some files and work from my couch in the evenings, so needed full operability.  When at home, with no cable attached and the laptops WiFi turned off, it's noticeably faster, even though I have no non-local search paths in my configuration.

Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 22 of 60 (1,924 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 12:46 PM in reply to: troma

Here is another example of mine that I captured using Process Monitor and using Civil 3D 2012

  1. Launch Civil 3D 2012
  2. Open a file off our network, I'm local so opening the file is opening over the LAN
  3. Save the file right after I open it.
  4. Exit Autocad

So I did these steps as fast as I could and just doing those steps you can see in the excel file that there is over 10,000 times that Autocad looked for files and it couldn't find them and was looking for files multiple places.

What a waste of time and network resources Autocad is wasting.

Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 23 of 60 (1,918 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 12:58 PM in reply to: brent.morris

We have used network paths for years and it wasn't until Autocad 2012 and/or switching over to Windows 7 that we really started noticing a slow down with Autocad and the blue spinning wheel of death, that's what are users call the Windows 7 spinning wheel when Autocad is doing something.

I'm starting to think that the combination of Windows 7 and 2012/2013 that there is something making things slower than they used to be.

We shouldn't have to copy all of our Autocad standards to every single workstation, if that's the case then just eliminate all custom paths and don't even allow us to do that. OK don't do that Autodesk. Just rewrite acad.exe so it doesn't need to look for multiple files over multiple locations in locations it shouldn't even be looking in.

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 24 of 60 (1,907 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 01:59 PM in reply to: brent.morris
If you can eliminate the need to look for things it can't find, it won't cause the excess network traffic :smileyhappy: Just saying.
John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 25 of 60 (1,905 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 02:24 PM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

Exactly, so now can you tell that to Autodesk and convience them to make a change so it's not looking for *.dll, *.arx, etc... all over the place.

 

Example, looking for file nvspcap64.dll and it can't find it so it looked for it in all of these places and this is coded into acad.exe, I'm not telling Autocad to look for this file.

C:\Program   Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\system\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Users\Brent.Morris\Documents\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\en-US\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS   Client\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS   Client\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth   Software\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth   Software\syswow64\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio   Shared\DLLShared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio   Shared\OEM\12.0\DLLShared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files   (x86)\Roxio\OEM\AudioCore\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk   Shared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP   ProtectTools Security Manager\Bin\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\DAL\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\IPT\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\DAL\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\IPT\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Users\Brent.Morris\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\C3D   2012\enu\Support\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Support\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Fonts\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Help\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Express\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Support\Color\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Civil\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\bin\FDO\nvspcap64.dll
C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\C3D   2012\enu\Data\Symbols\Mvblocks\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Drv\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\nvapi64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\system\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Users\Brent.Morris\Documents\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\en-US\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\iCLS   Client\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\iCLS   Client\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\wbem\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Windows\System32\WindowsPowerShell\v1.0\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth   Software\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\WIDCOMM\Bluetooth   Software\syswow64\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio   Shared\DLLShared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Roxio   Shared\OEM\12.0\DLLShared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files   (x86)\Roxio\OEM\AudioCore\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Autodesk   Shared\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Hewlett-Packard\HP   ProtectTools Security Manager\Bin\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\DAL\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\IPT\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\DAL\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files (x86)\Intel\Intel(R)   Management Engine Components\IPT\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Users\Brent.Morris\AppData\Roaming\Autodesk\C3D   2012\enu\Support\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Support\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Fonts\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Help\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Express\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Support\Color\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Civil\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\bin\FDO\nvspcap64.dll
C:\ProgramData\Autodesk\C3D   2012\enu\Data\Symbols\Mvblocks\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\nvspcap64.dll
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil   3D 2012\Drv\nvspcap64.dll
Contributor
kickhead70
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎02-07-2013
Message 26 of 60 (1,897 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-01-2013 02:49 PM in reply to: brent.morris
This has never happened to me before. Try a google search for nvspcap64.dll and it found nothing. ????
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 27 of 60 (1,863 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-02-2013 07:02 AM in reply to: kickhead70

Hey Brent,

Do you have any other Autodesk applications installed, like previous versions of the program?  If you can, I'd make a new user on your workstation, install civil 3D on it as the default setup, and see if you have the same problems.  Just make sure you use the network license install if you are using a network license, but don't install anything custom at all, nothing.

 

Also, have this new user, have no other applications on it.... interested to see what happens.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 28 of 60 (1,858 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-02-2013 07:11 AM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

Yes, I have this installed on my laptop.

Civil 3D 2012 & 2013

ADT 2012 & 2013

MEP 2013

Revit 2013

 

I have used the default setup and I still captured multiple files looking into multiple places.

I have tested on multiple different workstations using either Civil 3D or ADT and it didn't matter if it was 2012 or 2013 I had the same results.

I had my reseller support person who just use plain Autocad 2013 do the same capture and he got the same results.

This is also why I asked other users on this discussion to do the same test to make sure it wasn't just myself.

 

So my question to you and to anybody else is have you used the Process Monitor to capture according to my previous post, if so do you also notice that acad.exe was looking for a lot of files it couldn't find and it was looking in a lot of folders?

Distinguished Contributor
brent.morris
Posts: 111
Registered: ‎06-09-2008
Message 29 of 60 (1,846 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-02-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: brent.morris

I just finished a test with 2 different types of computers and OS and was surprised by the results.

Both computers using Civil 3D 2012 and both came from the same network deployment that installed Civil 3D 2012, using the stardard icon so it's using that standard profile and all local paths. The test was just capturing Civil 3D 2012 starting up and that's it.

 

1. Micron Desktop, purchased in 2007,XP 64bit SP2, Pentium D 3.4ghz, 4 GB ram, and Civil 3D 2012

It took Civil 3D 2012 25 seconds to open and process monitor captured 471 lines of files acad.exe couldn't find.

 

2. HP Elitebook 8570w, purchased in 2013, 7 Pro 64bit, i7 2.7 ghz, 16 gb ram, and Civil 3D 2012

It took Civil 3D 2012 21 seconds to open and process monitor captured 3900 lines of files acad.exe couldn't find.

 

I have included a zip file containg the excel files to show the difference in number of files and the different types of files it was looking for.

Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 129
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 30 of 60 (1,805 Views)

Re: Slow Civil 3d, cause by slow server, but still frustrated

05-07-2013 05:51 AM in reply to: brent.morris

I did the same thing and found the same results... but i'm not convinced that 'name not found' and 'create file' are operands that necessarily mean it can't find something.  then again, i'm not an i.t. professional so i have no idea what the process monitor is filtering out.

 

for what it's worth, mine logged 23,260 NAME NOT FOUND entries :-0

 

http://forum.sysinternals.com/name-not-found-a-very-frequent-result_topic19467.html

 

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.