AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
ChazBraz
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎06-15-2004
Message 1 of 10 (1,159 Views)

Slope analysis by direction

1159 Views, 9 Replies
03-27-2012 09:53 AM

I need to be able to do a slope analysis on a surface, but I need to have it calculate the slope in a direction - east and north.  Any way to do it?  Maybe even if there is a quick way to apply slope labels to a surface based on a grid - say the slope from N0.00, E0.00 to N0.00 to E 25.00

Charles

Civil 3D 2015
HP Phoenix
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-3770 3.4Ghz - 16GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Mentor
PorterCAD
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎01-09-2007
Message 2 of 10 (1,157 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-27-2012 10:06 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

I may not be understanding you correctly, but it sounds to me like all you need to to is place a two-point slope label (Annotate Tab > Add Labels > Surface > Slope) on your surface.  I'd draw your grid on your surface using basic ACAD lines and then use those lines to snap to while your placing yoru slope labels. 

 

Please correct me if I'm not understanding you correctly.

 

Jason

Jason Porter
Enceptia Technical Advisor & Civil Solutions Blogger
http://enceptia.com/author/jporter/
Valued Contributor
ChazBraz
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎06-15-2004
Message 3 of 10 (1,150 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-27-2012 10:34 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

Yeah, I figured out I could do that, but would like to use the slope analysis tool, and have it do a slopes banding, calculating the slopes in the east or north direction only.

Charles

Civil 3D 2015
HP Phoenix
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-3770 3.4Ghz - 16GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 4 of 10 (1,147 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-27-2012 10:35 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

Here's what I would do...

 

1. Draw a two point slope arrow in the direction that you in the lower left corner of your surface

2. Array it (using AutoCAD Array) to cover the rest of the site. The array will be non-associative, but that is OK.

3. Erase any extra labels

 

You can also just copy the two point slope arrows around the drawing.

 

Another thing that is pretty handy is to make a one-point slope arrow and then just move it around the site as a quick check of slope and direction (as it is moved around the site it will update in the "drag state").

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,910
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 5 of 10 (1,130 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-27-2012 12:27 PM in reply to: ChazBraz

This is easily doable in Civil 3D - not in front of it at the moment though but try this http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Slope-analysis-with-Civil-3D/td-p/2304463

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 6 of 10 (1,122 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-27-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: ChazBraz

The standard slope banding slope arrow tools are designed and coded to work on the slope of the TIN faces (based on the normal of the face).

 

The array of a pair of two point arrows will get you at the slope arrows on your surface in the two directions. They will update with changes in the surface.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,910
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 7 of 10 (1,100 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-28-2012 12:23 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

Also need to make sure that directions is turned on in the Style

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,910
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 8 of 10 (1,099 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-28-2012 12:25 AM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

peterfunkautodesk wrote:

Here's what I would do...

 

1. Draw a two point slope arrow in the direction that you in the lower left corner of your surface

2. Array it (using AutoCAD Array) to cover the rest of the site. The array will be non-associative, but that is OK.

3. Erase any extra labels

 

You can also just copy the two point slope arrows around the drawing.

 

Another thing that is pretty handy is to make a one-point slope arrow and then just move it around the site as a quick check of slope and direction (as it is moved around the site it will update in the "drag state").

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.


I like this Array trick - never realised this could be done with slope arrows

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 9 of 10 (1,087 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-28-2012 05:28 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

You can also use it for points, spot elevations or one point slope labels.

 

Cheers,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

Valued Contributor
ChazBraz
Posts: 64
Registered: ‎06-15-2004
Message 10 of 10 (1,084 Views)

Re: Slope analysis by direction

03-28-2012 05:33 AM in reply to: ChazBraz

Thanks everyone for the info.  I think I'll use the slope arrows for now, and try and figure out a way to do the slope banding later.

 

By the way, Peter - do you get any sleep??  Late post last night and an early one this morning.  Appreciate the dedication!

Charles

Civil 3D 2015
HP Phoenix
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel i7-3770 3.4Ghz - 16GB RAM
Nvidia GeForce GT 640
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!