AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
RobR88
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
Message 1 of 6 (143 Views)
Accepted Solution

SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

143 Views, 5 Replies
08-15-2013 08:29 AM

Problem:

 

I have a Storm pipe network for a subdivision.  All of the pipe are on the same layer, using the pipe style.  For some reason, only 1 of 68 pipes will display through my viewports.  All of the layers within the pipe style are thawed in my viewports, as well as the layer the pipes themselves are on. 

 

Further, when I go back to an archived file from a few days ago, all the pipes are also on the same layers and styles, and all pipes display as they should through all viewports.  There seems to be no rhyme or reason for this.  I am not sure what could have changed as I didn't knowing adjust anything with the pipe networks since archiving a few days ago. Am I missing something? Or is this just yet another glitch? 

 

Needless to say, my contractor who is waiting onsite is not happy that I have wasted hours trying to figure this out so I can print a plan for him....

 

Any help asap would be greatly appreciated!

 

Thanks in advance.

Resolved! (kind of)

 

The model space scale was set to 1:1.  I changed it to 1:500, (which is the most widely used scale in this set of drawings) and all of the pipes displayed in all viewports.  Note:  The viewport I needed most was at a scale of 1:250 - however changing the modelspace scale to 1:500 fixed the 1:250 viewport also.... 

 

Makes no sense to me - but I am happy it is fixed.  If anyone could help me understand why this happens, it'd be greatly apprecitaed.  I would understand if it effected ALL pipes, and they ALL didn't display when the problems were happening, but it only seemed to effect some pipes....

 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 6 (142 Views)

Re: SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

08-15-2013 08:31 AM in reply to: RobR88

Post your drawing so we can take a look...

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,394
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 6 (137 Views)

Re: SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

08-15-2013 08:39 AM in reply to: RobR88

What version?

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Contributor
RobR88
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
Message 4 of 6 (130 Views)

Re: SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

08-15-2013 09:00 AM in reply to: Jay_B

CIVIL 3D 2013

 

Valued Contributor
RobR88
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
Message 5 of 6 (126 Views)

Re: SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

08-15-2013 09:05 AM in reply to: RobR88

While attempting to diagnos this, I noticed that if I isolate the pipe layers in modelspace, they all display.  Then I go to the viewport in this isolation state, and again all pipes display.  When I turn all the other layers back on, only certain pipes stay displayed.... no sequence... no pattern...  losing my mind.....

 

Valued Contributor
RobR88
Posts: 74
Registered: ‎02-07-2012
Message 6 of 6 (110 Views)

Re: SINGLE LINE PIPE DISPLAY - NOT WORKING

08-15-2013 11:20 AM in reply to: RobR88

Resolved! (kind of)

 

The model space scale was set to 1:1.  I changed it to 1:500, (which is the most widely used scale in this set of drawings) and all of the pipes displayed in all viewports.  Note:  The viewport I needed most was at a scale of 1:250 - however changing the modelspace scale to 1:500 fixed the 1:250 viewport also.... 

 

Makes no sense to me - but I am happy it is fixed.  If anyone could help me understand why this happens, it'd be greatly apprecitaed.  I would understand if it effected ALL pipes, and they ALL didn't display when the problems were happening, but it only seemed to effect some pipes....

 

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.