AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wbrustle
Posts: 179
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
Message 1 of 3 (494 Views)

showing a volume surface in color

494 Views, 2 Replies
04-29-2013 11:59 AM

Hi,

I am totally lost and need help finding a tutorial explaining how to make a color rendering showing cut and fill on a volume surface. I keep reading bits and pieces of how to do it, but nothing explaining a step by step process. The terminology keeps referencing elevation ranges??? I figured out how to create a volume surface, but now desire to print out a colored drawing showing the cut and fill areas. Any help would be appreciated

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,926
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 2 of 3 (485 Views)

Re: showing a volume surface in color

04-29-2013 12:47 PM in reply to: wbrustle
Like this http://www.thecadmasters.com/wordpress/index.php/2011/05/02/civil-3d-2012-elevation-banding/ or this http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D/Cut-and-Fill-Labelling/td-p/3100198 or this from help http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesCUG/GUID-A55C7D93-AF19-4EAE-8028-EEECDD0...
neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Mentor
autoMick
Posts: 259
Registered: ‎07-19-2012
Message 3 of 3 (444 Views)

Re: showing a volume surface in color

04-30-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: neilyj

The volume surface is simply the elevation difference between your base and comparison surfaces, so if at a particular x,y point the difference between the two surfaces is +2m, then that is the z value of your volume surface at that point. The volume surface is just the same as any other surface in terms of presentation. The elevation ranges (and colour scheme) for your volume surface will correspond to the depth of cut or fill required to achieve the comparison surface.

Infrastructure Design Suite Premium 2015 SP1
Self-built i7-3930K, 16Gb RAM, P9X79 m/board
SSD(system), HDD(data), Win7Pro64, Quadro K4000 (and another with GTX680)
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!