AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
civilSD
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-13-2013
Message 1 of 10 (622 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sheet set publish issues

622 Views, 9 Replies
02-14-2014 02:42 PM

Sheet set publish issue: Civil3D 2014 running on network.  Publish to plotter named in page setup works on one computer (set up to use same Adobe pdf.pc3 file and full pdf page setup at 22x34 size) - one computer creates the pdf as 22x34 and another creates the pdf file as 18x24 size so it cuts off part of the sheet.  Also have a 3rd computer that gets a "the current device does not support the requested media size" error when trying to publish from sheet set and nothing is created.  This happens when trying to publish the same sheet set.  All 3 computers display the same sheet details in the publish dialog box; which appear to be fine on review.  Any ideas on what is the problem?  Thanks!

 

Process: from Sheet Set Manager: Pick publish dialog box, publish to plotter named in page setup, highlight all layouts and change to page setup needed.  All options picked in the same manner and 'no errors' shows in dialog box.  Can do all 3 computers within minutes and get only one good result.

Update: The same drivers and pc3 files are used by everyone from files on the network. I discovered that one user was not verifying that he had the correct "page setup" in the drawing file and this was creating the publishing issue. Thank you for your help! Claudia
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,123
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 2 of 10 (607 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-14-2014 04:45 PM in reply to: civilSD

civilSD wrote:

Sheet set publish issue: Civil3D 2014 running on network.  Publish to plotter named in page setup works on one computer (set up to use same Adobe pdf.pc3 file and full pdf page setup at 22x34 size) - one computer creates the pdf as 22x34 and another creates the pdf file as 18x24 size so it cuts off part of the sheet.  Also have a 3rd computer that gets a "the current device does not support the requested media size" error when trying to publish from sheet set and nothing is created.  This happens when trying to publish the same sheet set.  All 3 computers display the same sheet details in the publish dialog box; which appear to be fine on review.  Any ideas on what is the problem?  Thanks!

 

Process: from Sheet Set Manager: Pick publish dialog box, publish to plotter named in page setup, highlight all layouts and change to page setup needed.  All options picked in the same manner and 'no errors' shows in dialog box.  Can do all 3 computers within minutes and get only one good result.


This error will occur if different driver files are being called does eveyone work station point to a centrally located pc3 file? and does everyone have the same drivers.

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
civilSD
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-13-2013
Message 3 of 10 (587 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-15-2014 03:31 PM in reply to: civilSD
Can't seem to log in to Discussion Group, so I'll try this email reply. We are all using the same pc3 file. I believe that the drivers should be the same but I will check on Monday; there seems to be a problem with the network today. I did look at the printer devices and they all appear to be using the same "Adobe PDF Converter" driver - at least what is listed in the control panel. Will check in to Civil3D on Monday when I can log in to it. Thanks!

Claudia Murphy
Engineering Technician

[DreamDI LogoFINAL_Transparent-small]
528 Kansas City Street, Suite 4
Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone: 605.348.0538
Fax: 605.348.0545
claudiam@dreamdesigninc.com
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,123
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 10 (581 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-15-2014 05:00 PM in reply to: civilSD
Wont be around next week. good luck
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
civilSD
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-13-2013
Message 5 of 10 (552 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-19-2014 08:20 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Update: The same drivers and pc3 files are used by everyone from files on the network. I discovered that one user was not verifying that he had the correct "page setup" in the drawing file and this was creating the publishing issue. Thank you for your help! Claudia
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,123
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 6 of 10 (544 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-19-2014 09:16 AM in reply to: civilSD

I forgot about that.

 

In your SSm setup you have the ability to point to and overide setup file. I have one for each sheet size so everyone points to the same setup

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Contributor
civilSD
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-13-2013
Message 7 of 10 (536 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

02-19-2014 11:04 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza
Hi Joe,

Yes, I have made a setup in Page Setup Manager for each size we normally use. Unfortunately, that doesn't guarantee that everyone uses the proper technique. I've only been with this firm for 6 months, so I'm still trying to educate folks.

Thanks again for your help! I've seen your input in the discussion groups over the years - always very helpful.

Claudia Murphy
Engineering Technician
Distinguished Contributor
mgalicki
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
Message 8 of 10 (402 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

04-14-2014 08:56 PM in reply to: civilSD

Any help on this one?

I have been using sheet sets for several years. Recently one thing in my ss has become “disconnected”?
My template has my drawing settings with fields in the title block which are controlled by the ssm. However when I add a new sheet to the set,I use my template,(OR COPY AN EXISTING FILE FROM THE SET) I edit the titleblock info in the sheets properties dialog box by right clicking the file in the ssm. After finishing editing this info, When I save the file the fields don’t update to the edited info I just did?
Would you know what happened?
Thanks for any insight,
Mark

Everything in existence was first an Idea
Autodesk Plant 3D Premium 2012
Autodesk MEP 2015
HP 3.2 Ghz CPU 16 ram
1TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive
2GB DDR3 NVIDIA GeForce GT 530
HP 2311x 23" LED Monitor
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,123
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 9 of 10 (390 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

04-15-2014 05:27 AM in reply to: mgalicki
are any of your fields custom?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
mgalicki
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
Message 10 of 10 (45 Views)

Re: Sheet set publish issues

11-04-2014 08:36 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

Wow, been a while but still have this issue, so yes I do have several custom fields. Also When I make an index (sheet list table) it doesn't use the info from the fields?


Thanks for any help.

 

"Also I can not get the plot to do a "Single Sheet File" PDF. Is there a trick to this?

All my PDF plots come out Multi Sheet File even when I pick Single Sheet File?

 

Everything in existence was first an Idea
Autodesk Plant 3D Premium 2012
Autodesk MEP 2015
HP 3.2 Ghz CPU 16 ram
1TB 7200 rpm SATA 3Gb/s hard drive
2GB DDR3 NVIDIA GeForce GT 530
HP 2311x 23" LED Monitor
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!