AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 1 of 5 (809 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

809 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2012 06:44 AM

Hi!

I have a small field (5 by 5 meters) to be set out with about 40 points. Currently i use EOV (Hungarian National Coordinate System), thus each point has a lot of digits. I want to make the implemetor's job easier, so i want to move and rotate the CS near to my field.

I tried to use UCS, but the COGO points retained the "World" coordinates.

Do you have any idea how to carry out this without moving my whole drawing to the origin?

Thanks!

 

I think this is a perfect example of a use for the "Transformation" tab found in Drawing -> settings.

 

We don't really want to MOVE or ROTATE the points, we just want to change the display of the points.

 

I would look into the Transformation tab, and then revise some of the labels to use the "grid" coordinates, instead of the "local" coordinates.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,767
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 5 (797 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: david.mustyak
You can truncate the coordinates.
http://www.civil4d.com/2008/01/truncs-arent-just-for-elephants/
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 3 of 5 (790 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks, Matt!

It is a perfect solution for truncating the digits, but i would like to rotate the CS as well, as it is shown below.

I think it can be solved with trigonometric functions, but isn't there an easier way?

 

Survey.jpg

Distinguished Contributor
ctbailey
Posts: 294
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 4 of 5 (785 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: david.mustyak

I think this is a perfect example of a use for the "Transformation" tab found in Drawing -> settings.

 

We don't really want to MOVE or ROTATE the points, we just want to change the display of the points.

 

I would look into the Transformation tab, and then revise some of the labels to use the "grid" coordinates, instead of the "local" coordinates.

__________
Craig T. Bailey, PE, LLS
Bailey Engineering
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 5 of 5 (780 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: ctbailey

I tried to use the Transformation before but i didn' know about the grid coordinates.

Now it works perfectly! Thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!