AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 1 of 5 (818 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

818 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2012 06:44 AM

Hi!

I have a small field (5 by 5 meters) to be set out with about 40 points. Currently i use EOV (Hungarian National Coordinate System), thus each point has a lot of digits. I want to make the implemetor's job easier, so i want to move and rotate the CS near to my field.

I tried to use UCS, but the COGO points retained the "World" coordinates.

Do you have any idea how to carry out this without moving my whole drawing to the origin?

Thanks!

 

I think this is a perfect example of a use for the "Transformation" tab found in Drawing -> settings.

 

We don't really want to MOVE or ROTATE the points, we just want to change the display of the points.

 

I would look into the Transformation tab, and then revise some of the labels to use the "grid" coordinates, instead of the "local" coordinates.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 5 (806 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: david.mustyak
You can truncate the coordinates.
http://www.civil4d.com/2008/01/truncs-arent-just-for-elephants/
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 3 of 5 (799 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks, Matt!

It is a perfect solution for truncating the digits, but i would like to rotate the CS as well, as it is shown below.

I think it can be solved with trigonometric functions, but isn't there an easier way?

 

Survey.jpg

Distinguished Contributor
ctbailey
Posts: 294
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 4 of 5 (794 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: david.mustyak

I think this is a perfect example of a use for the "Transformation" tab found in Drawing -> settings.

 

We don't really want to MOVE or ROTATE the points, we just want to change the display of the points.

 

I would look into the Transformation tab, and then revise some of the labels to use the "grid" coordinates, instead of the "local" coordinates.

__________
Craig T. Bailey, PE, LLS
Bailey Engineering
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 5 of 5 (789 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: ctbailey

I tried to use the Transformation before but i didn' know about the grid coordinates.

Now it works perfectly! Thanks!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.