AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 1 of 5 (760 Views)
Accepted Solution

Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

760 Views, 4 Replies
07-10-2012 06:44 AM

Hi!

I have a small field (5 by 5 meters) to be set out with about 40 points. Currently i use EOV (Hungarian National Coordinate System), thus each point has a lot of digits. I want to make the implemetor's job easier, so i want to move and rotate the CS near to my field.

I tried to use UCS, but the COGO points retained the "World" coordinates.

Do you have any idea how to carry out this without moving my whole drawing to the origin?

Thanks!

 

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 5 (748 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 09:50 AM in reply to: david.mustyak
You can truncate the coordinates.
http://www.civil4d.com/2008/01/truncs-arent-just-for-elephants/
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 3 of 5 (741 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 10:53 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks, Matt!

It is a perfect solution for truncating the digits, but i would like to rotate the CS as well, as it is shown below.

I think it can be solved with trigonometric functions, but isn't there an easier way?

 

Survey.jpg

Distinguished Contributor
ctbailey
Posts: 293
Registered: ‎11-11-2004
Message 4 of 5 (736 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: david.mustyak

I think this is a perfect example of a use for the "Transformation" tab found in Drawing -> settings.

 

We don't really want to MOVE or ROTATE the points, we just want to change the display of the points.

 

I would look into the Transformation tab, and then revise some of the labels to use the "grid" coordinates, instead of the "local" coordinates.

__________
Craig T. Bailey, PE, LLS
Bailey Engineering
Member
david.mustyak
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-22-2012
Message 5 of 5 (731 Views)

Re: Setting up custom coordinate system for COGO points

07-10-2012 12:06 PM in reply to: ctbailey

I tried to use the Transformation before but i didn' know about the grid coordinates.

Now it works perfectly! Thanks!

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.