AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
cfetherston
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
Message 11 of 21 (1,781 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

07-26-2010 09:06 AM in reply to: brodour

Adam you are a god!

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 12 of 21 (863 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-14-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: brodour

Adam, and others:

 

I have "all" set under the layer filters already, and it's still scanning.  Am I not understanding something correctly? I'll attach a screen shot of where I'm looking for this magical fix. 

 

This scanning stuff is wasting all kinds of time! 

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 13 of 21 (841 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 07:48 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

any help on this one?

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,358
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 14 of 21 (833 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 08:13 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

GreeneSWCD wrote:

any help on this one?


Have you seen this?

http://www.cadforum.cz/cadforum_en/autocad-progressbar-scanning-the-drawing-tip6807

 

 

Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 15 of 21 (825 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 08:21 AM in reply to: rkmcswain

I'm only using the standard Autocad Imperial template, and I bet I haven't added ten layers to it.  So the number of layers isn't probably the issue.  Also, according to the link you provided (thanks for that) I already have that box unchecked that it recommends. 

 

Could the scanning tile be related to the amount of RAM I have?  I only have 4 gb... 

 

I've never used "purge" before.  What exactly does that do? 

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,877
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 16 of 21 (820 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 08:40 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD

Purge will get rid of unused Layers, Blocks, Text Styles, etc. You can select which specificaly you want to purge or let it delete all unused items. I'd suggest reading the help entry on it for a better understanding.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
mikeevans
Posts: 765
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 17 of 21 (812 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 09:31 AM in reply to: pizdryk

From reading this thread It sounds a little like the age old floating dialogue issues we ran into in previous versions since being included.

 

Does this occur when you don't have the layer dialogue open? If not then I would sudgest going back to the Old layer dialogue [LayerDlgMode] (I haven't used the new floating one since it was incorporated and have never had this issue in R11 - 13) The other thing that has upset and hung things is the digital signitures when on.

 

Sorry still not using R2014 no real reason to cross over yet and I'm awaiting first round of Hotfixes.

Mike Evans

Civil3D 2013 / 2014 British UK
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3820 CPU @ 3.60GHz (8 CPUs), ~4.0GHz With 32768MB RAM, AMD FirePro V4900, Dedicated Memory: 984 MB, Shared Memory: 814 MB

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,888
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 18 of 21 (812 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 09:34 AM in reply to: brodour
Is there a Sheet Set involved?
Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Contributor
GreeneSWCD
Posts: 198
Registered: ‎03-29-2011
Message 19 of 21 (803 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 09:55 AM in reply to: Joe-Bouza

nope, just one layout at a time.  It usually scans everytime I go from one layout to another, or to a layout from model space. 

 

I tried SHOWLAYERUSAGE and then accepted the <0> and it hasn't scanned since.  Although it's great that I'm not wasting 30-60 seconds everytime I switch views, it bugs me not really knowing what that command is doing.  Can someone shed some light? 

 

Thanks! 

*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,358
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 20 of 21 (798 Views)

Re: Scanning the Drawing and Other Annoyances

06-17-2013 10:45 AM in reply to: GreeneSWCD
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.