AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,167
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 11 of 15 (230 Views)

Re: SAC: Using OffsetTarget.IsValid as Decision

04-04-2013 06:59 AM in reply to: doni49

Good job. Yes, if the Target.IsValid API is not going to work for me in the False condition, then I'll probably have to use this Auxillary approach and have to change all of my Offset and Profile test condition statements in the nested IF functions of all my Expressions. 

 

I imagine the Warnings are simply indicating that the Target is not being found?

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 12 of 15 (223 Views)

EUREKA!

04-04-2013 09:41 AM in reply to: fcernst

Ok.  ANOTHER Epiphany!  :smileyhappy:

 

I've found a way to make it so that I don't even need the OA. 


I need curb on the left and right side from 0+00 to 0+40.  So I had created offset alignments from to and from the appropriate stations at 7.5ft left and right.  Then I had my SA searching for these OAs as a way to decide whether or not to show the curbs.

 

WELLLLLLLLL.......

 

I found a nifty little thing that I can use in a decision called Baseline.Station.  If that number is Equal to 0 OR 40 or if that number is BETWEEN those two values, it draws the curb.  NO OA NEEDED.  YIPPEE  :smileyhappy:

 

EDIT:  Here's what the flowchart looks like.

 

SAC_BoatRampFinal.png

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
*Pro
fcernst
Posts: 1,167
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 13 of 15 (195 Views)

Re: EUREKA!

04-19-2013 10:08 AM in reply to: doni49

 

Hey Doni,

 

I received this confirmation of the OffsetTarget.IsValid (Offset Target Class) defect. I am using the workaround you suggested, just slightly modified to use one Auxillarry Point to test for movement to provide a True/False Decision making capability.

 

We are using this in our custom ditch subassembly. This workaround won't have the same performance as the API function.

 

Capture.JPG

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Contributor
don.ireland
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎04-01-2013
Message 14 of 15 (189 Views)

Re: EUREKA!

04-19-2013 11:29 AM in reply to: fcernst

Thanks for the update.

Contributor
millsy.g
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎11-15-2012
Message 15 of 15 (112 Views)

Re: EUREKA!

12-03-2013 11:25 AM in reply to: don.ireland

Is there any futher update on this issue? I have the same problem with a stripping subassembly I have created. I'm not sure the work arounds discussed here will work for me.

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.