AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 11 of 19 (115 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-19-2013 11:16 AM in reply to: doni49

doni49 wrote:

 

Now I need to figure out WHY that is.    

 



I just realized the problem.  The SurfaceLink "Depth" parameter doesn't copy the surface PARALLEL, it copies it STRAIGHT DOWN. 

 

At this one location, that just doesn't go deep enough for the intersection to occur.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 12 of 19 (110 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-19-2013 01:39 PM in reply to: doni49

Is there a way to use a a WHILE loop in SAC?  Since my point just barely misses the surface link, what I'd like to do is something like:

 

RockDepth = RockBlanketDepth + 0.05)

while(not(AP13.isvalid)){

  RockDepth = RockDepth - 0.05

  attempt to create AP13 using RockDepth

}

 

The theory is that it would gradually reduce the depth and hopefully eventually create the point.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 13 of 19 (107 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-19-2013 01:45 PM in reply to: doni49

No, but you can just figure out where AP5 is relative to the surface offset (depth), then do something.

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 14 of 19 (104 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-19-2013 01:48 PM in reply to: fcernst

I've spent the afternoon trying to figure out how I was going to accomplish that.  I even got out the old Trig formulas.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 15 of 19 (94 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-20-2013 07:46 AM in reply to: doni49

Thanks for all the assistance! 

 

As I already said, once I used your suggestion of adding points to see if/where they fell, I found that it really was having trouble locating the intersection point.  I'll go back and mark that reply as a solution as it was PART of the solution and without it, I wouldn't have found the problem.  It'll be important for people having similar issues to see that.

 

Anyway, I figured out how to use AP5's location to identify the desired depth.  First, here's a screenshot of the graphic I made to help me figure it out.

 

 

 

SAC SurfaceLinkIntersectionSolved.png

 

First I know that the angle between link L11 and line AP4-AP5 will ALWAYS be 90.  So I used that to figure out the angle between line AP4-AP5 and the vertical (in this case that angle is 43 which I'll call THETA).  I changed AP13 so that it is relative to AP4 at an angle from the vertical of THETA divided by 2 and a distance of 10.  Then I made an AUXLINK (AL15) from AP4 to AP13.  The intersection of AL15 and AL10 gives me the exact point where I want the bottom of my material to intersect with AL10 -- that's AP29.

 

Lastly, I changed the surface link definition's DEPTH to AP29.distancetosurface(Surface).  Since the depth is specifically controled by the distance from the point up to the surface, I'm guaranteed that it will go through the point (as long as the surface is actually above it).

 

The whole corridor is working without even a single error.

 

EDIT:  To figure out the THETA angle, I used math.acos(AP4.slopeto("AP5")).

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 16 of 19 (77 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-20-2013 10:37 AM in reply to: doni49

Don I
 
"Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can. "
                                        -- troma

 


Why do you have this in your signature? No Kudos given...and you gave yourself the Solution!  

 

:smileywink:

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 17 of 19 (69 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-20-2013 11:50 AM in reply to: fcernst

fcernst wrote:

Don I
 
"Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can. "
                                        -- troma

 


Why do you have this in your signature?


 I just liked how it sounded when I read it in troma's signature.  So I decided to say the same thing in mine.  And I noted that it was a quote from him because I thought it was especially fitting as in "giving credit where credit is due".


fcernst wrote:
No Kudos given...and you gave yourself the Solution!  

I marked my latest reply as solution because as far as I know, that system is more about helping users find solutions to their own problems.  If someone is ever searching for a solution to a similar problem, they're able to "look past" all/most of the interim messages and see what the final solution was.  The only reason for posting the message in the first place was in hopes that it might help someone else in the future.  I for one don't even pay attention to how many "Solutions" there are listed under my name.  I post replies to people's queries in hopes that I might be able to "pay it forward" as I recognize that I've been helped here immensely.  If someone marks one of my replies as a "Solution" then maybe it'll help another person down the road too to try and find answers known to have worked.  Beyond that, I don't really care about the "Solution" system.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,094
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 18 of 19 (58 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-21-2013 08:23 AM in reply to: doni49

..that system is more about helping users find solutions to their own problems.  If someone is ever searching for a solution to a similar problem,..

 


The sloution you chose to reference in this thread is too specific and obscure to your problem at Sta 2+05 to be of help to the general audience with a desire to learn SAC principles. It's mostly discusses general trigonometry.

 

I demonstrated how to analyze an Auxillary Intersection problem in SAC for you, and then speculated that your intersection link was not being created because the endpoint of your intersecting link was below your auxillary surface link that is using a depth parameter. That solved your question why AP13 was not being created.

 

I thought you said you were going to mark that as the Solution.

 

"Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can. " 

-troma
                                     

Again, Still no Kudos?

 

 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 1,558
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 19 of 19 (49 Views)

Re: SAC: Intersection Point. Point not found?

12-21-2013 08:52 AM in reply to: fcernst

fcernst wrote:

..that system is more about helping users find solutions to their own problems.  If someone is ever searching for a solution to a similar problem,..

 


The sloution you chose to reference in this thread is too specific and obscure to your problem at Sta 2+05 to be of help to the general audience with a desire to learn SAC principles. It's mostly discusses general trigonometry.

 

I demonstrated how to analyze an Auxillary Intersection problem in SAC for you, and then speculated that your intersection link was not being created because the endpoint of your intersecting link was below your auxillary surface link that is using a depth parameter. That solved your question why AP13 was not being created.

 

I thought you said you were going to mark that as the Solution.

 

"Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can. " 

-troma
                                     

Again, Still no Kudos?

 

 


Actually, I DID mark your suggestion as solution and when you someone reads the OP message, there is a link "Click for Solution" and clicking that link will take the user to your message.  I realize that my post was rather specific to my situation.  But it was my hope that it might stimulate some thought in that direction for whomever eventually reads the thread.

 

As to the Kudos, I do tend to forget about them.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.


Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Cusomization

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.