AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 1 of 9 (672 Views)

renumber sheets

672 Views, 8 Replies
01-02-2013 12:26 PM

is there a way to renumber sheets in the sheet set manager? i've got over 100 sheets and i need to insert some new sheets in the middle. there wasn't a way in 2009 but i was hoping for something in 2012. it seems like something that would be included by now.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
Mentor
DSM_dude
Posts: 187
Registered: ‎03-08-2011
Message 2 of 9 (652 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 01:42 PM in reply to: nostupidquestions

It will not automatically renumber them, but you can go in sheet set manager and change the sheet numbers.

Cad Blog:
http://geauxcad.wordpress.com/
Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 3 of 9 (647 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 01:46 PM in reply to: DSM_dude

thanks for the reply. i guess i should have included a 'quickly' or 'automatically' in my post in regards to renumbering. renumbering each sheet takes forever.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 4 of 9 (642 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 02:00 PM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Nothing built in as you have seen (not sure why after all these years...)

But given enough programming knowledge, it's certainly possible to roll up your own routine.

We have such as tool and it pays for itself every time it is used.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 9 (639 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 02:02 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

How does this work if you have sheets numbered:

 

01

02

03-A

03-B

04

05

 

?

 

Or do you just avoid this type of numbering?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 6 of 9 (630 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 02:17 PM in reply to: rkmcswain

i got one somewhere several years ago but it doesn't work with 2012.  i agree that this feature should be included.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
Jeff_M
Posts: 4,316
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Message 7 of 9 (624 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 02:36 PM in reply to: nostupidquestions

There's also some 3rd party help if it's something you need.

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 8 of 9 (606 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-02-2013 05:02 PM in reply to: troma

Nothing against SincPac, my favorite is SSMproperetieseditor at JTBworl dot com

 

and it more than renumbering

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
*Expert Elite*
rkmcswain
Posts: 3,346
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 9 of 9 (592 Views)

Re: renumber sheets

01-03-2013 05:08 AM in reply to: troma

troma wrote:

How does this work if you have sheets numbered:

 

01

02

03-A

03-B

04

05

?


Our numbering is usually very simple (1, 2, 3, 4, etc) - so our routine simply starts with the first sheet (1) and then numbers the rest sequentially. It also updates a custom property with the total number of sheets since we have a field that references that.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.