AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Garvess
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Message 1 of 5 (202 Views)

Rendering grades problem

202 Views, 4 Replies
07-24-2011 10:52 PM

Ive been using civil 3d to design a subdivision and I'm doing the grades for the lots now. The grading tools are working fine but my problem is that whenever the drawing is viewed in 3d realistic the surface is still spilling on top of my lots. The surface doesn't seem to be changed by the cut and fill being applied. Could anybody give me any clues as to how I could fix this?

Contributor
cdavenport
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Message 2 of 5 (186 Views)

Re: Rendering grades problem

07-25-2011 06:23 AM in reply to: Garvess

How are the lot grades being put into "the surface".

Cyndy Davenport
Bowman Consulting Group
cdavenport@bowmancg.com
c3dcougar.typepad.com
Civil 3D 2014
Windows 7 - 64 bit
32GB RAM
Intel Core i7-2860QM CPU @ 2.50GHz
NVidia Quadro 2000M
Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 3 of 5 (179 Views)

Re: Rendering grades problem

07-25-2011 07:25 AM in reply to: Garvess

Your posting is a little vague. Do you mean that your EG surface is spilling over your FG surface in areas of cut when viewing both surfaces in 3D? If so, it will do that as in 3D it shows the higher of the two surfaces on top regardless of what you have designed for the FG.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
New Member
Garvess
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-24-2011
Message 4 of 5 (171 Views)

Re: Rendering grades problem

07-25-2011 08:21 AM in reply to: ericcollins6932

Yeah my existing ground is spilling onto my road corridor and lots when I visualize it in 3d. It just seemed to me like there must be a way to may a way to fix it because I've seen so many civil 3d drawings online that look great in 3d with no issues like that.

Valued Mentor
ericcollins6932
Posts: 332
Registered: ‎05-13-2010
Message 5 of 5 (169 Views)

Re: Rendering grades problem

07-25-2011 08:24 AM in reply to: Garvess

I would suggest copying your EG and pasting your FG into it - which will give you a composite surface for viewing purposes.

Eric Collins, P.Tech.(Eng.)

Win 7 Enterprise SP1 64 bit
Intel i7 3770 @ 3.40 GHz
16 GB RAM
Civil 3D 2012 SP2
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.