AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
JSPEARS86
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2013
Message 1 of 4 (139 Views)

Removing extra I.E and OUT dimensions off a label

139 Views, 3 Replies
05-09-2013 11:19 AM

Is there a way to remove the extra (In) and (out) invert elevation from my labels? If the IN or OUT (I.E.) is the same there is no need to label them twice. So, can I remove them?  If you can remove them, how do you do it?

 

This is what I have

NEW CATCH BASIN A-11

TOP=427.30

I.E.(IN)=421.60

I.E.(IN)=421.60

I.E.(OUT)=421.60

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,282
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 2 of 4 (133 Views)

Re: Removing extra I.E and OUT dimensions off a label

05-09-2013 11:40 AM in reply to: JSPEARS86

Don't know of a way to eliminate the redundant inverts. The choices are

Structure all pipes

Structure Inflow Pipes

Structure out flow pipes

 

The inv label can be shortened by using Structure all pipes text for each component.

 Pipe direction label can also be added.

 

Ours looks like below in the Text component editor of the structure label style.

 

INV <[Connected Pipe Invert Elevation(Uft|P2|RN|AP|GC|UN|Sn|OF)]> (<[Connected Pipe Direction(CU)]>)

 

Explode is the only way I know of to eliminate all but one row in your caption or using an "Edit Label Text"

override to overwrite the contents.

 

Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 3 of 4 (127 Views)

Re: Removing extra I.E and OUT dimensions off a label

05-09-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: JSPEARS86
Jay has u on the correct path
U have one outflow so create a label that only show the outflow and the redundant inverts won't display

Also make on for inflow only as u may need that for other structures
John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 4,884
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 4 of 4 (97 Views)

Re: Removing extra I.E and OUT dimensions off a label

05-09-2013 08:09 PM in reply to: JSPEARS86

So if yoomit the redundant inverts how does the contractor know which is which if say 4 or more pipes are entering a structure?

 

inv in 100.23

inv in 100.32

inv out 100.12

 

I prefer to add the direction at the end

 

inv 100.23 (n)

inv 100.23 (e)

inv 100.32 (w)

inv 100.12 (s)

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.