AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,974
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 11 of 15 (77 Views)

Re: Recover file size

04-04-2012 04:49 AM in reply to: dibr0804

That's strange. I have some pretty messed up drawing right now and even with them I get good recovery files 4 out of 5 times.

 

Allen

Contributor
dstevens
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 12 of 15 (74 Views)

Re: Recover file size

04-04-2012 06:10 AM in reply to: dstevens

The drawing is crashing on a cross section layout.

I'm sure it's a file problem and I'll work it out. Not the first corrupt ACAD file I've had to deal with.

 

Also, I believe the reduced file size started when I upgraded from C3D 2010 to C3D2012.

*Expert Elite*
Neilw
Posts: 2,272
Registered: ‎09-04-2006
Message 13 of 15 (63 Views)

Re: Recover file size

04-04-2012 07:47 AM in reply to: dstevens

There are lots of posts about problems with Recover. I can't explain why it works for some but not for others. You might find an answer if you go through them.

Neil Wilson (a.k.a. neilw)
Infrastructure Suite/C3D 2013, LDT 2004, Power Civil v8i SS1
WIN 7 64 PRO
HP Pavillion h8xt, i7 2600, 12 GB
RADEON 6450, 1 GB
http://www.sec-landmgt.com
Contributor
dstevens
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎06-21-2005
Message 14 of 15 (58 Views)

Re: Recover file size

04-04-2012 07:51 AM in reply to: Neilw

Thank you Neil.

I will pursue it there.

Active Contributor
MaryBell1
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎12-17-2013
Message 15 of 15 (16 Views)

Re: Recover file size

09-29-2014 09:36 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Has anyone found a solution to this issue.... With the program being as unstable as it is (at least for me) you would think a fix for this would be priority for Autodesk. Unless I'm using the recover drawing the wrong way. In previous versions of LDT I didn't often crash. In C3D its a common occurance in some drawings. I have been opening it from the Drawing recovery manager and it NEVER work... not once out of maybe 50 crashes has it worked. The file obviously is too small. My work around is setting the autosave to every 10 mins but just wish the recover drawings were usable.

 

 

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.