AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
Sam-I-am
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-09-2011
Message 1 of 24 (1,246 Views)

raised median tutorials

1246 Views, 23 Replies
07-09-2011 09:42 AM

civil 3d 2011, Are there any good tutorials or videos on creating raised median divided roads with the bull nose.

I am using one alignment and profile, the profile defines the lip of gutter of the outside lanes.

but any general videos on the topic will help.

 

 

 

 

Distinguished Mentor
castled071049
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎11-15-2005
Message 2 of 24 (1,225 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

07-10-2011 05:40 AM in reply to: Sam-I-am

I will toss in my two cents worth here, but others will have different opinions. I don't use an assembly with a raised median. I create my corridor as though there are no medians. I first get the design where I want it (matching existing driveways, taking drainage sumps into account, desiging intersections, etc.)

 

I then add the medians in as pasted surfaces as the last step. I turn the flowline of the median curb into a feature line, project it up to the corridor surface for elevations, use the feature line offset to get the back of curb, add them to a new surface ("Median 1", for example), then paste that into a new, overall surface that has the corridor surface already added.

 

It's simple without dealing with the complexities of corridor medians crossing over centerlines for turn lanes, etc., and it automatically includes bullnoses. Also, the number of regions is reduced as you won't have regions with medians and regions without medians to deal with. The downside is, if vertical changes to the road corridor are made, you have to reassign elevations to affected medians as they are not dynamic to the corridor. However, even with a median-driven corridor assembly, you will have to deal with feature lines for the bullnoses, so changes will still require feature line manipulation. Another downside is you will have additional surfaces to deal with to the extent that you have medians. I haven't found this to be a problem, but you should be aware of it.

 

I'm interested to see how others deal with corridors with medians.

*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,187
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 3 of 24 (1,215 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

07-10-2011 08:12 AM in reply to: castled071049

Ditto

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 4 of 24 (1,211 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

07-10-2011 08:48 AM in reply to: castled071049

Do the medians show up in sections that way?

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,936
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 5 of 24 (1,205 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

07-10-2011 09:32 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

Sure, if you make a surface of them and don't forget to sample that surface.

 

Bill

 

Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 6 of 24 (1,197 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

07-10-2011 05:56 PM in reply to: wfberry

Got it.

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Contributor
Conrad_A
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
Message 7 of 24 (666 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

08-21-2013 10:50 AM in reply to: OMCUSNR

I am also interested on how other people approach the subject. I watched a video at Autodesk University. It was called UnConditional Corridor Love. Towards the end the speaker talks about using the EOP as an alignment for a median. He creates a corridor surface and then pastes that surface into a new surface. He is able to use the corridor surface as a profile for said alignment. Adding the assembly of a baseline and curb in the corridor it creates a bullnose and is fully dynamic.

 

I haven't be having much luck with this method because my corridor keeps wanting me to update it.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,225
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 8 of 24 (647 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

08-21-2013 06:16 PM in reply to: Conrad_A

This thread may be of interest.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Valued Mentor
fcernst
Posts: 1,159
Registered: ‎01-07-2011
Message 9 of 24 (629 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

08-22-2013 04:11 AM in reply to: sboon

These workflows you guys are coming up with make my head spin and give me a headache...Why are you not using the Median subassemblies? 

Fred Ernst, PE
C3D 2015 SP2
Ernst Engineering
www.ernstengineering.com
Distinguished Contributor
mike.barkasi
Posts: 344
Registered: ‎06-09-2007
Message 10 of 24 (619 Views)

Re: raised median tutorials

08-22-2013 05:12 AM in reply to: Sam-I-am

I create the median similarly to sam-i-am... however my method appears to be a little more streight forward...

 

once the median is placed, rules associated with the elements allow the median to update with the movement of the corridor, whether vertical Horizontal or in super the median updates.

 

The video below shows the process for building a raised median.

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8s4fSe7R1rU

 

 

HTH

 

Mike Barkasi

Bentley Civil

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.