AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
yoganand.m
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 1 of 3 (847 Views)

"Error adding breakline" message when editing surface with feature lines

847 Views, 2 Replies
07-11-2012 02:46 PM

Hai,

 

I am working on a 6 mile highway project whose surface file is 85MB big. So, I created a Data Shortcut of this surface and used this for creating profiles. However, at some locations the corridors go below the surface(as per their original profile) which was not intended. So, I need to restrict the surface to follow the corridors but not go beyond it.

 

I have created feature lines from corridors and tried to add them as breaklines to the surface. But " error adding breakline" error pops up. 

 

Is it because I am trying to add the breaklines to the mirror surface which I created from Data Shortcut ??

 

Will it be helpful if I copy feature lines to original surface file and add these feature lines as breaklines in that file??

 

I have attached screenshots of steps I have been following. Kindly help me out with this.

 

Thanks in advance,

 

YM

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia Quadro 2000
24 GB Ram
i7 960 @ 3.20 GHz
Civil 3D 2012
Distinguished Contributor
Tom_Berning
Posts: 160
Registered: ‎08-08-2006
Message 2 of 3 (823 Views)

Re: "Error adding breakline" message when editing surface with feature

07-12-2012 05:07 AM in reply to: yoganand.m

You will need to copy those feature lines to the original surface file. You can not edit any data shortcutted object. You can only edit those objects in their original file.

Tom Berning
Woolpert, Inc.
Civil 3D 2013
Active Member
yoganand.m
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-23-2012
Message 3 of 3 (813 Views)

Re: "Error adding breakline" message when editing surface with feature

07-12-2012 01:52 PM in reply to: Tom_Berning

Thank you. I did the same. It seems working

Windows 7 x 64
Nvidia Quadro 2000
24 GB Ram
i7 960 @ 3.20 GHz
Civil 3D 2012
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.