AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Contributor
boris.yordanov11
Message 1 of 19 (1,756 Views)
Accepted Solution

Quick profile with Civil 3D 2012

1756 Views, 18 Replies
03-26-2013 12:42 AM

I searched around the forum but didn't find anything that can help me. Probably because i have a very simple problem. I'm new to the Autodesk product, i'm still studying and unfortunately the course in Autocad was unadequate.

But about my specific problem - we have to draw a railway line. Which i did, but now we have to crate the longitudinal profile. I know i can do it with Civil 3D with the quick profile command, i also read abou ProfLT (but haven't tried it out).

I found this guide - http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesCUG/GUID-8A36E662-16A7-417F-BB41-7E7AE1E...

It only has 6 steps but that's just enough to mess things up, because my problem occurs at step 2 - In the drawing, select a line, polyline, lot line, feature line, or survey figure.

I get a prompt to select a polyline, and i do. And that's it. I get no dialogue box or error or anything. The command just ends. So i think my drawing is incorrect. To draw the railway line we were told to do it with all the elevations at 0. For the profile i returned all the elevation and copied my polyline from the drawing with 0 Z coordinates.

Now everything has a certain elevation. I just really don't know what i'm doing so any help would be appreciated. Thank you 

Edit:

If i don't select a polyline and instead use points it still doesn't work.

Distinguished Contributor
prokopchuk
Message 2 of 19 (1,735 Views)

Re: Quick profile with Civil 3D 2012

03-26-2013 02:22 AM in reply to: boris.yordanov11

1. Create TIN Surface

2. Add Contour Data to a Surface

http://docs.autodesk.com/CIV3D/2013/ENU/index.html?url=filesCUG/empty_concept_432.htm,topicNumber=CU...

3. Quick profile

*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Message 3 of 19 (1,723 Views)

03-26-2013 04:50 AM in reply to: boris.yordanov11