AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 1 of 7 (256 Views)

quick profile still deleted when qsave

256 Views, 6 Replies
11-12-2008 10:45 AM
i remembered i downloaded a UK version of c3d 09 and the profile stayed. but the US version at work still remove the quick profiles when qsave. why's that? in the new feature workshop, it says it stays. maybe before the update 1 was working.
Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
Distinguished Contributor
itr0045
Posts: 298
Registered: ‎08-23-2007
Message 2 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-14-2008 09:03 AM in reply to: wang890
My US version does not save the quick profile.
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 695
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 3 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-14-2008 09:12 AM in reply to: wang890
This is what the help file states, but....... I know there are times mine have stayed! I can't remember if it was in the '08 or the '09 version. Either way it now acts as advertised.

{color:#0000ff}"Quick profiles are temporary and are removed when you save or close the document or exit AutoCAD Civil 3D. To create a profile that you can use again, create an alignment at the location of interest and use it to create a standard profile."


{color}{color:#000000}Bruce{color}
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
*Himanshu Gohel
Message 4 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-19-2008 10:59 AM in reply to: wang890
WANG890 wrote:
> i remembered i downloaded a UK version of c3d 09 and the profile stayed.
> but the US version at work still remove the quick profiles when qsave.
> why's that? in the new feature workshop, it says it stays. maybe before
> the update 1 was working.

Quick Profiles are not designed to persist in the drawing. Could you
tell me where in the New Features Workshop it says that they will be
saved? Thanks.

--
Himanshu Gohel. Civil 3D Team, Autodesk, Inc.
Autodesk Civil 3D Product Information: http://www.autodesk.com/civil3d
Civil Engineering Community Portal: http://civilcommunity.autodesk.com
Active Contributor
frye_guy
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 5 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-19-2008 11:06 AM in reply to: wang890
In the US version you can trick the Q-prfile into staying by exporting a land xml then reimporting, then creating a profile view. but honestly, why not just create an alignment with no labels and make a profile that way. in the long run it will save you time and frustration of getting something that was never meant to persist to persist.
Mentor
wang890
Posts: 823
Registered: ‎06-08-2007
Message 6 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-19-2008 12:51 PM in reply to: wang890
i know it's not there anymore. i seriously remember it one time, never mind. if i want to keep it i just exploded it.

yeah by the way, how to you install custom subassemblies so the dll file go in to:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D 2009\enu

default goes to

C:\Documents and Settings\bwang\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D 2009\enu\Support\ToolPalette\Palettes\Imported
Civil 3D 2012
Work: Xeon W3503, 12GB, Quadro 2000, Yamakasi Sparta 301 + Dell PH2211
Home: 3930k, 12GB, GTX 590, U3011, QX2710
*Himanshu Gohel
Message 7 of 7 (256 Views)

Re: quick profile still deleted when qsave

11-20-2008 06:53 AM in reply to: wang890
wang890 wrote:
> i know it's not there anymore. i seriously remember it one time, never
> mind. if i want to keep it i just exploded it.

Thanks for the follow-up. I wanted to make sure there wasn't any
inaccuracy in our documentation.

> yeah by the way, how to
> you install custom subassemblies so the dll file go in to: C:\Documents
> and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D 2009\enu default
> goes to C:\Documents and Settings\bwang\Application Data\Autodesk\C3D
> 2009\enu\Support\ToolPalette\Palettes\Imported

Perhaps a new thread on this would get more attention.

--
Himanshu Gohel. Civil 3D Team, Autodesk, Inc.
Autodesk Civil 3D Product Information: http://www.autodesk.com/civil3d
Civil Engineering Community Portal: http://civilcommunity.autodesk.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.