AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 678
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 1 of 4 (227 Views)

question about structure insertion point and pipe connection point

227 Views, 3 Replies
01-23-2014 04:01 PM

please see attached image, i have a big structure 96"x102" to inner walls with 6" wall thickness. i have two 48"x76" pipes connecting to it, which have 6.5" wall thickness. the problem is that the pipes seem to "connect" to the insertion point of the structure, which is the grip highlighted in the attached image. i am using a rectangular juction structure NF, with a custom block that shows the grate, the curb piece and how the curb piece lines up with the curb line. the pipe coming into the structure from the north is ok, but the pipe leaving the structure to the right shows up partially outside the structure limits (see attached image). is there a way to fix this, so that the pipes to not "connect" at the structure insertion points?

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2013 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 4 (213 Views)

Re: question about structure insertion point and pipe connection point

01-23-2014 04:39 PM in reply to: Hidden_Brain
You can select the pips grip and move it so that it's where you want it. Don't move it too much or it will become detached.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
*Expert Elite*
Jay_B
Posts: 2,397
Registered: ‎09-15-2010
Message 3 of 4 (201 Views)

Re: question about structure insertion point and pipe connection point

01-23-2014 05:22 PM in reply to: Hidden_Brain
Some of the suggestions in this thread might also help.
http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/AutoCAD-Civil-3D-General/Pipe-Networks-Connect-to-Part-issue/m-p/39473...
Jay

C3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Valued Mentor
Hidden_Brain
Posts: 678
Registered: ‎03-24-2009
Message 4 of 4 (187 Views)

Re: question about structure insertion point and pipe connection point

01-23-2014 06:49 PM in reply to: Jay_B

thank you guys, looks like there is hope! you guys are geniuses! I will try the pipe grip edit tomorrow and post back. thank you again!

Avishek Chhibber, P.E., CFM
Civil 3D 2013 SP2, Win 7-64 bit
8GB RAM
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.