AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
Rubixcube10
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 1 of 19 (199 Views)
Accepted Solution

Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

199 Views, 18 Replies
10-21-2013 11:48 AM

1 question about using the Basic "X" Point style.  Basically, if I have field codes that don't require symbols, I would usually give them the basic "X" point style.  I'm starting to notice that all my "X's" are all on the same layer ex.."AP-Point" as set when I went into the Basic Point Style Properties.  My description is set to go into another layer...AP-Labels....

 

At first it didn't bother me until I turned off half of my layers and while keeping the other half up.  These points are marked with the basic "X" too but with various field codes and descriptions.  I have all my points set up to go into their specific layers but my problem is....it's all controlled by the AP-Layer only instead of their seperate layers. 

 

So now, I really can't control which layer to freeze to get rid of some clutter.  Is there a simple solution to this.  Am I doing something wrong?  Or should I have multiple Basic points with multiple layers instead?

 

Thanks

Rob

HP Compaq 8100 Elite
Win 7 Pro SP1 - 64Bit
8GB RAM
i7 860 @ 2.80 GHZ

AutoCad Civil 3d 2012 SP1
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 2 of 19 (192 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:16 PM in reply to: Rubixcube10

I control point display through Point Groups. I have an All_points No_Display group. All points set to a No_Display style. Anything that I want to see goes above that in the list. What I don't want to see goes below. This is more flexible than layers since while a point marker of label can't be on more than one layer at once. Points can be in multiple Point Groups.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
Rubixcube10
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 3 of 19 (189 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:27 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Interesting.  How do I go about to try this No_Display Group? 

 

Is there a way to get multiple Point Groups into my DWT?  Or do I have to arrange point groups after I import my points in.  Hypothetically, All of my points go into their respective layer automatically....do multiple point groups show up automatically too?

Rob

HP Compaq 8100 Elite
Win 7 Pro SP1 - 64Bit
8GB RAM
i7 860 @ 2.80 GHZ

AutoCad Civil 3d 2012 SP1
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 19 (180 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:34 PM in reply to: Rubixcube10

If you don't already have No_Display Point and Label styles. Create them. Copy the All_Points Group and assign the No_Display styles to it. Arrange the Point Group Order to bring all you want to see above that group and those you don't want to see below.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 5 of 19 (174 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: Rubixcube10

You can create all the point groups in your template. We base most of ours on the description. So you can sort them similarly to how you import them. But with the Point Groups you can change the display without freezing or thawing any layers.

 

The Point Groups have to be creates once. After that all points will appear in the groups that they match the criteria for. You could have an Existing group of all field shots, an EP Group of all EP shots and Groups for EP-BLKTP, EP-CONC and EP-GRAV.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
Rubixcube10
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 6 of 19 (171 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:45 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

So I just right click on Point Groups and select new?  Or do I have to go somewhere else to create this No_Display Point and Label style.

 

I guess I'm just a little too confused as to where and how I get to this point.  Unfortunately I'm still in the learning stages since I only use C3d about 4-5 months a year.  After I get back from the field and sit down, I basically have to relearn everything again.  I'm just so used to the older Carlson and Eagle Point programs that were so simple to use for the surveyor.

Rob

HP Compaq 8100 Elite
Win 7 Pro SP1 - 64Bit
8GB RAM
i7 860 @ 2.80 GHZ

AutoCad Civil 3d 2012 SP1
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 7 of 19 (168 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 12:49 PM in reply to: Rubixcube10

You can create the Point Groups first or not. But at one point to have it work the way I've described. You have to have the No_Display styles. If you have a choice of <none> that might work also.

 

Another advantage of this method is that you can override the Point Marker and Label styles within a Point Group. So you can have a point displayed one way in one Group and differently in another.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
Rubixcube10
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 8 of 19 (161 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 01:09 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Thanks for the help Allen but this is just flying over my head now.  I'm starting to get in too deep with this issue and have absolutely no clue what you're explaining.  Especially if I can't see it for myself.  Is there some kind of video about this topic?  and a how to do what you're explaining or is this just something people finally figure out after long hours of working with this.  This program is just so frustrating.  I just don't understand why I have to go through hundreds of steps just to get something simple to work the way I want it to.  I don't understand why when I make a Field Code description and I give it a layer to go to, but now I have to make my basic marker set for another layer and my label is set for another layer too.  Why do I have to have so many multiple layers for a simple "X" symbol.

 

The point group and cloud stuff is not my forte.  I understand the point group and all.  I have made individual point groups after I imported my points in but what your explaining is probably easy to understand to some but no me.  Again, I appreciate your help.

Rob

HP Compaq 8100 Elite
Win 7 Pro SP1 - 64Bit
8GB RAM
i7 860 @ 2.80 GHZ

AutoCad Civil 3d 2012 SP1
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 9 of 19 (159 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 01:13 PM in reply to: Rubixcube10

Don't give up. I basically haven't answered about the multiple layers because I don't know the answer.

 

I'm working with a huge Surface so I can't do anything to show you more clearly right now. I'll try to put something together in the morning before I open the big project.

 

Allen

Valued Contributor
Rubixcube10
Posts: 95
Registered: ‎06-29-2011
Message 10 of 19 (155 Views)

Re: Question about BASIC Marker Point Style layer

10-21-2013 01:15 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

Ok.  Thanks again Allen

Rob

HP Compaq 8100 Elite
Win 7 Pro SP1 - 64Bit
8GB RAM
i7 860 @ 2.80 GHZ

AutoCad Civil 3d 2012 SP1
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.