AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Granthg
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-09-2011
Message 1 of 17 (2,023 Views)

Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

2023 Views, 16 Replies
05-09-2011 05:32 AM

When I publish a drawing to Google Earth with Civil 3D 2012 the kmz file does not show up in Google Earth. The wizard seems to execute properly, even winding up in the correct geographic location and is listed in the temporary files, but the entities do not appear. I have successfully published this and many other files with version 2011, but can’t seem to find “the magic” to make it work with the latest version. Am I missing some settings somewhere?

New Member
sstraayer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-03-2011
Message 2 of 17 (1,964 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

05-13-2011 10:53 AM in reply to: Granthg

How did you get the Google Earth plug installed? I found this post:

 

http://labs.blogs.com/its_alive_in_the_lab/2011/04/google-earth-extension-for-autocad-how-to-extract... 

 

But I get a class not registered error

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,887
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 17 (1,957 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

05-13-2011 11:22 AM in reply to: sstraayer

That post referenced AutoCAD 2012 not Civil 3D.  Google Earth was installed on my computer "at birth".  I assume that should do it.  Perhaps not.

 

Bill

 

 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,646
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 17 (1,821 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

06-22-2011 10:17 PM in reply to: Granthg

Did you ever get this one figured out? I am experiencing the same issues. I try to send parcel or alignments to Google Earth and, like you said, it zooms to the correct location, but no objects appear.

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,887
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 5 of 17 (1,812 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

06-23-2011 05:59 AM in reply to: tcorey

Tim:

 

I have not had that problem.  The only problem I have had is if I don't use the pick button on the mouse it zooms all the way in to "0" Elevation.  I suppose there is a setting, but it doesn't concern me at this point.

 

Bill

 

Contributor
jjvail
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 6 of 17 (1,640 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

09-20-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: Granthg

I found in the readme that Google Earth for Civil 3d 2012 will be supported at a later date. Page 2 of the attached pdf

http://labs.autodesk.com/files/17301_17400/17361/file_17361.pdf 

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,887
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 7 of 17 (1,633 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

09-20-2011 02:09 PM in reply to: jjvail

Google Earth that is installed with C3D works, but the one you have referenced is the new one that supports color.

 

Bill

 

Contributor
jjvail
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎07-11-2007
Message 8 of 17 (1,630 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

09-20-2011 02:17 PM in reply to: wfberry

I am still having the problems listed in the earlier posts. 2012 Civil 3D data (surfaces and Materials) not displaying. The Camera path which is just a polyline comes in fine.

Valued Contributor
gtinker
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎09-20-2004
Message 9 of 17 (1,339 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

02-22-2012 03:32 PM in reply to: Granthg

Bumping up.....

 

As well, having same issue with Civil3D 2012 exporting the KML/KMZ.

We use the KML/KMZ's in ArcGIS Explorer (Desktop and On-line).

 

Same issue that Cogo Points simply don't work. 

In testing an alignment, the point style Marker(s) (Core Block) come in, yet NOT the alignment

geometry.  The "XML" content's all there, just not anything relative to Civil Object graphic's.

 

Yet to try any further Civil 3D Objects from R2012.  For ref., product is "Fully Updated" + Ext.'s.

 

I see on LandXML.org, that Nathan has some sample LandXML files that have been "converted" to

KML/KMZ format.  Anyone know how these files were generated (inside older Civil3D Version, or ?). 

http://www.landxml.org/schema/UserSamples/UserTransformSamples.htm

Used in R 2008 on some surfaces & parcels (?) w/o any problem, so R 2012 ???.

For one of those samples, the XML clearly shows an "Alignment" within file content being transformed.

If the "XML data" is being clearly passed, seams like a graphical ?

 

Any assist. would be GREATLY appreciated.

 

Thanks,

Geoff T.

 

 

Geoff T.

Xi Computer (Win7 64bit O.S.)
i7 3770K @ 4.5GHz Sealed Water Cooler
Quad Core w/ Asus P8Z77-V LE mobo
16GB DDR3 @ 1600Mhz RAM
15K Seagate SCSI H.D.
Nvidia Quadro 2000 (span2) + FX4600 (3)
ViewSonic VS2436 series displays (3)
*Expert Elite*
Joe-Bouza
Posts: 5,050
Registered: ‎12-15-2008
Message 10 of 17 (1,329 Views)

Re: Publishing to Google Earth w/ Civil 3D 2012

02-23-2012 04:10 AM in reply to: wfberry

Hi Bill

How do you use the pick button to avoid zooming to 0?

Thank you

Joseph D. Bouza, P.E. (one of 'THOSE' People) Civil 3D 2012 & 2013
HP Z210 Workstation
Intel Xeon CPU E31240 @ 3.30 Hz
12 GB Ram


Note: Its all Resistentialism, so keep calm and carry on

64 Bit Win7 OS
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.