AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
drafter1411
Posts: 395
Registered: ‎10-13-2008
Message 1 of 9 (403 Views)

proposed surface

403 Views, 8 Replies
01-19-2011 07:23 AM

Hello everyone, still learning civil 3D. I'm working on a highway, the engineer has made some changes to the road to smooth it out. How do I generate a proposed surface? Do I re draw the alignment? Do I create contours with proposed elevations? I want my proposed profile to show up with my existing.

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 9 (401 Views)

Re: proposed surface

01-19-2011 07:37 AM in reply to: drafter1411

If you have your corridor revised and would like to create corridor (proposed) surface from it all you need to do is go to Corridor Properties, Surfaces tab and create it in there. Once you have that all you need to do is to edit the style to show the contours. See:

2011-01-19_1036.png



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
3Dvisualization
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 3 of 9 (247 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 08:33 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

I have an existing surface. I created an existing alignment and profile; I also designed a proposed profile.

 

How can I create a proposed surface?

 

Thanks

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 4 of 9 (240 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 08:42 AM in reply to: 3Dvisualization

Hello,

 

It is not clear to me whether you have your corridor there and if you wanted to create your corridor surface. If you do have corridor, then you may do just like mentioned in the post above. If you don't have your corridor, you would have to create it. Since you have alignment, EG and profile, you will need an assembly and to create corridor from it. Very quick process.

 

Once you create corridor surface (proposed) you will have an option to paste that corridor surface on your EG surface. I would recommend copying your EG surface and then paste corridor surface into new one to avoid possible issue with circular references down the road. This will give you full proposed surface. In any case, it would help if you clarify what you are trying to get. 



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
3Dvisualization
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 5 of 9 (232 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 09:05 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Thank you so much for your help!

 

I don't have corridor. I will follow your instruction and do it.

 

By the way, I have another questions and I have posted several days, but no response. Could you please give me a direction here (I know it is not right topic)?

 

I have a profile view. See the attachment:

 

1. I chose User specified range from Profile View Properties --> Stations. The station started at 9+970.00, but I can't get the text label from the start station. Could you give me a direction?

 

2. I chose clip vertical/horizontal grid from Profile View Style, but I can't get horizontal grid line under EG/FG profiles from station 9+970.00 to 9+985.53, and I can't also clip vertical grid above the EG/FG profiles from station 9+970.00 to 9+985.53. I don't think I need to do it manually. Could you please give me a direction?

 

Thank you again.

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 6 of 9 (227 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 09:17 AM in reply to: 3Dvisualization

1. If you go into Profile View Properties, bands tab, you will have option to label Start and End. 

label_start.end.png

 

I am not sure if I understand your other question. Are you asking why do you not see clips from begining of profile to the 9+985.59? It seems that your surface profile is created from that point, so the view is set to cover only surface profile and not proposed. Essenatially, profiles are not the same length. In any case, I think this would be better if it's new thread. Would you mind creating new thread with just that question so we have other's input?



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
3Dvisualization
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 7 of 9 (219 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 10:30 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Thank you! I got it.

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 8 of 9 (216 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 10:32 AM in reply to: 3Dvisualization

Great! Gald I could help.



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
3Dvisualization
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎07-11-2011
Message 9 of 9 (207 Views)

Re: proposed surface

08-25-2011 11:12 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

I am thinking why the profile view is set to cover only surface profile and not proposed? why not for both? or can be set up anyway according to need.

 

Thanks

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.