AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Valued Contributor
randyowens3203
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 1 of 7 (759 Views)

Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

759 Views, 6 Replies
03-19-2012 09:04 AM

I'm using feature lines created from utilities line work to label utility locations on section views. To avoid selecting each individual section view, I'm using Profile & Section Views, Section views, Project Objects To Multiple Section Views. This works great. Labels are placed on the Sections Views all at once, just requiring a little clean up of label locations. However, there are feature lines for other purposes in the drawing, and these are all labeled at the same time. Does anyone know a way to select which feature lines will be projected? I've been erasing the extra labels, which is still faster then placing one label at a time per section view.

Randy A. Owens
Southland Engineering, Inc.
Win 7 64BIT
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,600
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 2 of 7 (743 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-19-2012 12:50 PM in reply to: randyowens3203

Randy, objects on frozen layers are not projected.

 

Best regards,

 

Tim

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,789
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 3 of 7 (738 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-19-2012 01:58 PM in reply to: randyowens3203

This has been bugging me today as well - freezing my featurelines layer didn't show anything due to Style considerations so I eventually changed the layer that the feature line(s) were on and then projected and this worked well.

 

Another limitation of C3D I'm afraid - a very obvious requirement that takes many steps to accomplish...

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 240Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Valued Contributor
randyowens3203
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 4 of 7 (728 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-20-2012 05:11 AM in reply to: randyowens3203

Thanks, I will give that a try.

Randy A. Owens
Southland Engineering, Inc.
Win 7 64BIT
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
LisaPohlmeyer
Posts: 569
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
Message 5 of 7 (707 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-26-2012 05:55 AM in reply to: randyowens3203

I am a fan of conditional sub-assemblies.  Most of our projects are road rehab, and we encounter existing utilities often.  My assembly includes a conditional horizontal target subassembly, that I'v attached a LinkOffsetAndElevation sub-assembly to that has an Ex. Water Line style assigned.  You could create any number of these for different types of feature lines you have in your drawing and then use them as targets.  If the target is NOT found, the link doesn't appear in the cross section.  I place my feature lines on separate layers for each utility, and select them "By Layer".  Makes targeting pretty easy.  I've inlcuded a copy of our "Master" subassembly drawing which has a few generic assemblies that you can look at to get the idea. These are in 2012.

Lisa Pohlmeyer

C3D 2012 SP4, C3D 2015
Please use "Accept as Solution" if this solved your issue.
Valued Contributor
randyowens3203
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
Message 6 of 7 (704 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-26-2012 06:23 AM in reply to: randyowens3203

Unfortunately, I'm still running 2011 and can't open your drawing. Sounds like a great idea, though. Thanks.

Randy A. Owens
Southland Engineering, Inc.
Win 7 64BIT
C3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,872
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 7 of 7 (699 Views)

Re: Project specific Feature Lines to x-sects

03-26-2012 07:14 AM in reply to: LisaPohlmeyer

Many thanks for the idea and example Lisa.

 

Be well!

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.