AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 11 of 13 (161 Views)

Re: Project Sharing to Remote Offices

01-18-2013 09:08 AM in reply to: terryl

I'm also aware of Globalscapes Avail Agent.

 

Here's the catch.... even if you map the network drives.... Autocad mapping ignores them at the root level and sees paths as unc and that is where you are screwed, and deployments tell the tale.

 

ideally, i'd prefer 1 server and high performance accelerations over high performing fiberopt network connections and eliminate this bandaid cheaper than a good network solution.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Distinguished Contributor
terryl
Posts: 211
Registered: ‎10-08-2003
Message 12 of 13 (156 Views)

Re: Project Sharing to Remote Offices

01-18-2013 09:15 AM in reply to: Hammer.john.j

I don't see the problem, I have all the drives mapped the same way in all four locations.  We have no problems with xref's or anything.

 

Terry

Civil 3D 2013 (SP1)
Dell T3500
Win 7 Pro X64
Intel Xeon 3.2 GHz
24 GB ram
NVIDIA Quadro 4000
Distinguished Contributor
Hammer.john.j
Posts: 133
Registered: ‎05-06-2008
Message 13 of 13 (153 Views)

Re: Project Sharing to Remote Offices

01-18-2013 09:26 AM in reply to: ralstogj

Open the sheetset manager database and you will see that if the data base is accessed by multiple locations, the UNC path is changed to the local server regardless of the mapped drive path.

 

It does the same thing for anyfile kept on a local server, in fact, it changes the paths because it keeps copys of the xrefs on your local computer anyways, unless you tell it to do something differently....

 

AutoDESK hasn't changed how the paths work since the inception of arg files.  The program is not designed to play nice with a complex network and the more you dig into the more obvious it becomes.  You really need a Network or Software Engineer to customize your WAN, LAN, hardware and software in such a way that it replicates the program functioning with files retained "locally" i.e. on your c drive, like autodesk initially intended it.

John Hammer, LA
Dell Precision T3500 - Xenon W3550 @ 3.07 (4 core)
Ram @ 12Gb
64bit Win7 Pro
Samsung SSD
NVIDIA Quadro 2000 - Dual Monitors
Cat 6 network with GlobalScape Avail Agent - WAFS
Infrastructure Design Suite Premium and Civil 3D 2012 & 2014
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.