Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Profiles

10 REPLIES 10
Message 1 of 11
Anonymous
258 Views, 10 Replies

Profiles

I'm trying to create a profile of a pipe.  I have elevation data for the pipe and natural ground I've created a surface from the natural ground then I created and alignment.  Next I created a profile when the profile was completed I  got broken lines and spikes for my pipe not a polyline that followed the natural ground.  I'm at a loss as to how I could fix this and I'm very new to AutoCADD I'm a GIS person.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

10 REPLIES 10
Message 2 of 11
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: Anonymous

@Anonymous wrote:

I'm trying to create a profile of a pipe.  I have elevation data for the pipe and natural ground I've created a surface from the natural ground then I created and alignment.  Next I created a profile when the profile was completed I  got broken lines and spikes for my pipe not a polyline that followed the natural ground.  I'm at a loss as to how I could fix this and I'm very new to AutoCADD I'm a GIS person.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks

There are several types of profiles none of which I am aware become broken lines or polylines for that matter. Profiles are objects. Is this a surface profile? you may want to create a Layout profile to establish you pipe profile. Or maybe consider using a pipe network and set the inverts/ slope of the pipe?

Joe Bouza
Did you find this post helpful? Feel free to Like this post.
Did your question get successfully answered? Then click on the ACCEPT SOLUTION button.

EESignature

Message 3 of 11
Jay_B

Could you post a screen capture showing the Alignment with the natural ground Surface Boundary displayed?

C3D 2018.1
C3D 2016 SP4

Win 7 Professional 64 Bit
Message 4 of 11