AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,345
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 1 of 8 (663 Views)

profiles switch dynamic to static?

663 Views, 7 Replies
06-06-2011 11:17 AM

Hello:

 

Just updated my alignment by erasing several hundred feet from the beginning.  Looked at a plot and the profile didn't update.  Checked status of profile and it said static and surface imported from LDD had disappeared.

 

Profile had been dynamic last month.

 

Is it a feature that if a surface is accidently erased, the associated profiles switch to static?

 

Anybody have any clues?

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Distinguished Contributor
josephbouza5497
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 2 of 8 (650 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-06-2011 12:44 PM in reply to: annw2

I just tried deleting a surface and the profile reverted to static. I guess thats better than deleting the profile with the surface.

Employee
hgohel
Posts: 268
Registered: ‎05-17-2006
Message 3 of 8 (621 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-07-2011 07:58 AM in reply to: annw2

Yes, that is correct.  If the surface that a profile is dependent on is not available any more, the profile changes to static mode.  As Joe observed, the other alternative would have been to delete the profile when the surface is deleted.

 

If the surface is available in the drawing again you may be able to change the profile back to dynamic mode.

Himanshu Gohel
Autodesk, Inc
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,345
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 4 of 8 (611 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-07-2011 09:49 AM in reply to: annw2

I tried toggling the profiile back to dynamic when I brought the surface back in.  It wouldn't give me the option.  Wish list for 2013?

 

Next wish list item - Big warning - :smileyvery-happy:eleting the surface will convert profile to static" if a surface is to be erased from a file.

 

I must have deleted the surface by accident.

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Distinguished Contributor
josephbouza5497
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎11-29-2007
Message 5 of 8 (608 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-07-2011 10:42 AM in reply to: annw2

would you prefer that the profile be deleted? If it will not go back to dynamic - resample it

Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,345
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 6 of 8 (596 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-07-2011 03:31 PM in reply to: annw2

I did.  I fixed the problem.

 

I prefer the profile to go to static rather than be deleted.  I just prefer a warning before deleting a surface with a profile attached.

Ann Wingert, P.E.
*Expert Elite*
klugb
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎09-04-2008
Message 7 of 8 (588 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-07-2011 07:01 PM in reply to: annw2
A good check is to rt-click on it in prospector and see if "delete" is an option. If not, it's still being referenced. The fun part is finding what is using it.
Bruce Klug
AutoCAD Expert Elite
AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014 Certified Professional
Infrastructure Design Suite 2014 (SP2)
Testing Civil 3D 2015
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit
Distinguished Contributor
annw2
Posts: 1,345
Registered: ‎03-07-2006
Message 8 of 8 (579 Views)

Re: profiles switch dynamic to static?

06-08-2011 09:55 AM in reply to: annw2

Could which profiles, etc. that are using the surface be added to the properties information?

 

I think that would be a very helpful additiona in 2013

Ann Wingert, P.E.
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.