AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
eric_apostol
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 1 of 13 (3,218 Views)
Accepted Solution

Profile View/Band

3218 Views, 12 Replies
06-12-2012 10:22 PM

Hi all,

 

I am creating a longsection and I do have a question about a settings on one of my band style.

 

To simplified, my task is to create a longsection of a new road. So I need to show the levels of the existing surface, proposed level and chainage/station and other road definitions.

 

I created the alignment per what I am instructed and then created a longsection/profile using "CREATE SURFACE PROFILE". Then I used the "PROFILE CREATION TOOL" to create my proposed level of my road.

 

Everything looks fine EXCEPT for my "PROFILE BAND STYLE" for the existing surface. What I want is to show the existing levels at the HORIZONTAL GEOMETRY POINTS and at the VERTICAL GEOMETRY POINT same as where the proposed level. HORIZONTAL GEOMTERY POINTS works (I checked this by turning of the other display on that band). But the VERTICAL GEOMTRY POINTS seems getting its value of all the VGP of the existing surface and not the proposed level. I just want to show the existing level at where is the low/high point of the road, start, end, and PVI of the porposed profile (hope I explain it well).

 

Please see the attached image. I removed the other road deifinition to make the profile simplier.

 

Existing surface --> DATA EGDTM

Proposed road level --> TEMP ROAD

 

Could anyone point me what setting/style I missed? Any suggestion or comment is much appreciated.

 

 

Many thanks,

 

Eric

 

 

 

 

Select Profile View Properties choose your Band Style and Edit Current Selection

1. Select Band Details and choose Horizontal Geometry Point and next Compose label

1.horizontal.png

2. Select Display and make Ticks at Horizontal Geometry Points and Labels at Horizontal Geometry Points visible

2.display.png

3. Select for the Profile 1: Existing Profile and for the Profile 2: Design Profile

3.bands.png

4. Finally you will get your elevations for Horizontal Geometry

4.result.png

5. Repeat this procedure for Vertical Geometry

 



Awesome! Problem solve.

 

I think I know where's the problem lies. I forgot not to change the PROFILE 1 on the GEOMETRY POINTS tab to my proposed profile.

 

4.png

 

And change the Profile 2 into my existing surface. And here's the resulted longsection.

 

5.png

 

 

Just to summarize and share what I understand from here:

 

PROFILE 1 --> uses the point where do you want to have labels and you can edit the GEOMETRY POINT (Vertical and Horizontal) to suit what points you wanted.



PROFILE 2 --> uses the value of the tin at the point where you specifed on PROFILE 1

 

I wish Autodesk renamed this Profile 1 and Profile 2 into Label Location and Profile Value or similar to make it clearly.

 

Hopes this will help other users having the same question/problem. And thank you to the CIVILFF in giving me an idea on using profile 1 and profile 2 seperately on the bands as before, I don't mind what's in there as I usually use same value on it. Thanks mate.

 

 

Cheers,

 

Eric

 

 

Active Contributor
eric_apostol
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 2 of 13 (3,214 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

06-12-2012 10:29 PM in reply to: eric_apostol

I forgot to attach the image.

 

profile band style.png

Active Contributor
CivilFF
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎12-22-2010
Message 3 of 13 (3,206 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

06-13-2012 02:13 AM in reply to: eric_apostol

Select Profile View Properties choose your Band Style and Edit Current Selection

1. Select Band Details and choose Horizontal Geometry Point and next Compose label

1.horizontal.png

2. Select Display and make Ticks at Horizontal Geometry Points and Labels at Horizontal Geometry Points visible

2.display.png

3. Select for the Profile 1: Existing Profile and for the Profile 2: Design Profile

3.bands.png

4. Finally you will get your elevations for Horizontal Geometry

4.result.png

5. Repeat this procedure for Vertical Geometry

 



Regards,
CivilFF
www.civilfastforward.com
Active Contributor
eric_apostol
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 4 of 13 (3,185 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

06-13-2012 05:16 PM in reply to: CivilFF

Thanks mate for your reply. Much appreciated.

 

I know what are you pointing out with your instruction and that's my procedure. And to check my style, I tried to create a new style and follow your procedure just to verify what's wrong with it. But again without luck.

 

I place the existing surface on PROFILE 1 & proposed on PROFILE 2 per your instruction.

 

Here's a snap shot on what I got:

 

1. This is where the VERTICAL and HORIZONTAL GEOMETRY POINTS are turned off for the DTA EGDTM (exising surface). You can see that the level are just for the regular intertal (MAJOR STATION) only. Which is by the way on every 25m.

 

1.png

 

 

 

2. This is where I turned on the HORIZONTAL POINTS for the existing surface which got the correct levels per geomtry points I selected (TANGENT-CURVE INTERSECTION and CURVE-TANGENT INTERSECTION)

 

2.png

 

 

3. And here's the problem when I turned on the display for the VERTICAL POINTS (I turned off the HORIZONTAL POINTS to verify it will get the levels only at points of the proposed). And I only selected the VERTICAL POINT INTERSECTION on the geometry point.

 

3.png

 

 

I will try to play it around to solve this as I think there should be a solution for it.

 

Any more comments and suggestion is all welcome.

 

 

Cheers,

 

Eric

 

 

 

Active Contributor
eric_apostol
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 5 of 13 (3,185 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

06-13-2012 05:44 PM in reply to: eric_apostol

Awesome! Problem solve.

 

I think I know where's the problem lies. I forgot not to change the PROFILE 1 on the GEOMETRY POINTS tab to my proposed profile.

 

4.png

 

And change the Profile 2 into my existing surface. And here's the resulted longsection.

 

5.png

 

 

Just to summarize and share what I understand from here:

 

PROFILE 1 --> uses the point where do you want to have labels and you can edit the GEOMETRY POINT (Vertical and Horizontal) to suit what points you wanted.



PROFILE 2 --> uses the value of the tin at the point where you specifed on PROFILE 1

 

I wish Autodesk renamed this Profile 1 and Profile 2 into Label Location and Profile Value or similar to make it clearly.

 

Hopes this will help other users having the same question/problem. And thank you to the CIVILFF in giving me an idea on using profile 1 and profile 2 seperately on the bands as before, I don't mind what's in there as I usually use same value on it. Thanks mate.

 

 

Cheers,

 

Eric

 

 

Contributor
mostafa-ace
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 6 of 13 (3,027 Views)

Profile View/Band

10-18-2012 12:21 AM in reply to: eric_apostol

Dear Friends,

Could you please help me with below prolem?

I want to create a Band of Station Number below the profile, like this:

No:1  No:2   No:3  , .....

I tried Station value, but It displays station content like 1+250.

Tnx

Contributor
mostafa-ace
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 7 of 13 (2,986 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

10-19-2012 06:50 AM in reply to: mostafa-ace

a bit help would be appreciated.

Active Contributor
eric_apostol
Posts: 31
Registered: ‎03-21-2005
Message 8 of 13 (2,950 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

10-24-2012 03:15 PM in reply to: mostafa-ace

Hi,

 

Your question is a bit confusing but here goes.

 

1. If you are talking about just the band style, you can just create a BAND STYLE --> PROFILE DATA

 

2. Go to BAND DETAILS tab --> Major Station

 

3. Under contents --> on the window, Type "No: ". then use decimal format and 0 precision.

 

And that will do the trick.

 

 

 

Cheers,

 

Eric

 

 

band style.png

Contributor
mostafa-ace
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 9 of 13 (2,908 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

10-31-2012 09:35 AM in reply to: eric_apostol

Tnx for your consideration, but my problem is another thing. I try to describe my problem more here:

I want to assign an increasing number to each majer station. In other word, I want to create a band for piquet number for major stations, for example:

For station 0+000 ---> No. 1

Station 0+050 ----> No. 2

Station 0+100 ----> No. 3

....

and create a band with these number below the profil, like:

No.1    No.2      No.3   .....

Contributor
mostafa-ace
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎10-18-2012
Message 10 of 13 (2,877 Views)

Re: Profile View/Band

11-03-2012 06:30 AM in reply to: mostafa-ace

Not any idea about my case?!

I would appreciate if sb could help me.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.