AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
mikepo
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 1 of 5 (232 Views)

profile pipe network labels

232 Views, 4 Replies
06-19-2013 10:01 AM

If I have a pipe that spans between two profile views, is there a way to label the pipe in each profile view with only the lineal feet that is showing in that profile view?

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z230
Xeon 3.20Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 2 of 5 (225 Views)

Re: profile pipe network labels

06-19-2013 10:19 AM in reply to: mikepo

I've had to do that on occasion. There is a trick to it. First, expand the profile view to cover the midpoint of the pipe. Add the label, then drag it towards the end of the pipe within the desired profile view limits. Then return the profile view to the desired limits. On the next view, simply add the profile label and drag it as desired.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,784
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 3 of 5 (223 Views)

Re: profile pipe network labels

06-19-2013 10:20 AM in reply to: mikepo

Because the same label style is used for both plan and profile labeling, there is no way to do this. The pipe label expressions would need something along the lines of, "view end station" and "pipe start station in view" but those don't exist.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Valued Mentor
ccoles
Posts: 319
Registered: ‎06-26-2007
Message 4 of 5 (220 Views)

Re: profile pipe network labels

06-19-2013 10:25 AM in reply to: ccoles

oops, pardon me. I read the last line wrong. I think the only way to just show the pipe length within the profile view is to manually override the text. The label will want to show total pipe length irregardless of the profile.

Windows 7 64-bit
HP Z600 8 Gig RAM
Civil 3D 2013
Mentor
mikepo
Posts: 239
Registered: ‎04-29-2008
Message 5 of 5 (218 Views)

Re: profile pipe network labels

06-19-2013 10:27 AM in reply to: ccoles

I was just getting ready to reply with that comment but you beat me to it. :smileytongue:

Mike Porter
www.ppeng.com
Civil3D 2014 SP2
Win 7 Professional - 64-bit
HP Z230
Xeon 3.20Ghz
24GB of RAM
Nvidia GeForce GTX 760
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.