AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
bslagle
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-20-2010
Message 1 of 3 (267 Views)

Profile Hatch

267 Views, 2 Replies
11-09-2012 07:29 AM

I need to hatch either the pipe or the profile where the sewer pipe is more than 5 feet deep. Would prefer the profile. Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,524
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (251 Views)

Re: Profile Hatch

11-09-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: bslagle

To be honest I don't think it's possible to automate that.  AFAIK C3D knows only the 'average depth' of each pipe, not the actual depth at every point along it.

Maybe someone else will prove me wrong though.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,474
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 3 (197 Views)

Re: Profile Hatch

11-30-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: bslagle

It may not be possible to automate it, but it's possible.   trace a polyline over the existing profile and drop it down 5' in the profile view.   then trace the pipes below the 5 feet line.   form closed polygons and hatch them.

 

not dynamic but hey it works.  :smileywink:

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!