AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
bslagle
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-20-2010
Message 1 of 3 (262 Views)

Profile Hatch

262 Views, 2 Replies
11-09-2012 07:29 AM

I need to hatch either the pipe or the profile where the sewer pipe is more than 5 feet deep. Would prefer the profile. Any suggestions?

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (246 Views)

Re: Profile Hatch

11-09-2012 10:14 AM in reply to: bslagle

To be honest I don't think it's possible to automate that.  AFAIK C3D knows only the 'average depth' of each pipe, not the actual depth at every point along it.

Maybe someone else will prove me wrong though.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Pro
dgordon
Posts: 1,472
Registered: ‎12-14-2006
Message 3 of 3 (192 Views)

Re: Profile Hatch

11-30-2012 11:14 AM in reply to: bslagle

It may not be possible to automate it, but it's possible.   trace a polyline over the existing profile and drop it down 5' in the profile view.   then trace the pipes below the 5 feet line.   form closed polygons and hatch them.

 

not dynamic but hey it works.  :smileywink:

Dan

Civil 3D 2013
Win 7 Pro x64
Intel Xeon 2.0GHz
12Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500
www.preinnewhof.com
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.