AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 1 of 7 (203 Views)

profile grade label reset

203 Views, 6 Replies
11-07-2013 06:55 AM

i've got a profile with a lot of grade labels, some of which i've turned the visibiliy off. i need to turn some, but not al,l of them on. how does one do this?

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 2 of 7 (193 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 07:50 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Don't know if this will work..

 

Select one, right-click and choose select similar. Hopefully you will see grips for the hidden ones. If you do, deselect the ones you do not want to modify.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,842
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 3 of 7 (190 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 07:52 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Existing ground or New Profile?

 

Bill

 

Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 4 of 7 (185 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 07:57 AM in reply to: wfberry

it's a new profile. i can grab the grip of the one that is missing but there aren't any options to make it visible.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
jmayo
Posts: 2,798
Registered: ‎11-13-2006
Message 5 of 7 (177 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 08:33 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions

Once the visibility is turned off it seems there is no way to select it again. I think you are going to have to use the Reset All Label Groups and then hide the ones you don't want again.

 

Other options I see...

 

The weeding function in the Profile Labels dialog can limit the number of grade labels.

 

Use a grade label with the leader turned off and drag the unwanted labels out of the plot view so the can be reset if desired.

 

Wish they were better solutions.

John Mayo, PE
IDSP 2014
Win 7 64, Xeon ES165@3.2Ghz,
64 GB RAM, Quadro K4000 (x2)
Distinguished Contributor
nostupidquestions
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎11-17-2005
Message 6 of 7 (168 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 08:58 AM in reply to: jmayo

that's what i figured. it's a shame they can't make it like all the other line labels with labeling a single segment or multiple segments. thanks.

Dell Studio XPS 9100
Intel Core i7 CPU 930 @ 2.8GHz
12GB Ram
64 bit
C3D 2015
*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 7 of 7 (156 Views)

Re: profile grade label reset

11-07-2013 10:05 AM in reply to: nostupidquestions
For next time, I recommend this:
Make a 'no-plot' label. That could show up on a no-plot layer, or it could be a label with the display set to false in the label style. (I made them on a no-plot layer and with very small text height.)
Then, when you want to turn some labels off, switch them to this style rather than setting their visibility off or deleting them. This way you can always switch them back again if you need them.

Doesn't help you now of course, and I agree that there should be a better way of handling this.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.