Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Producing a Topographical Survey that Showing different Gradients/Slopes

19 REPLIES 19
SOLVED
Message 1 of 20
Anonymous
1394 Views, 19 Replies

Producing a Topographical Survey that Showing different Gradients/Slopes

Hello All,
I am new to Civil3D And I am using it for one purpose,
Im working at producing planning drawings for solar farms, and the client has asked to me produce topographical surveys highlighting where the gradient or the slope is greater than 15 degrees

Is there someway i can use Civil 3d to do this?

Ideally im looking at producing a 3D Model which has shaded areas for the areas which are above 15 degrees
And Hopefully another shaded for areas between 15 and 10 degrees, 10 and 5 and 5 and 0

The topographical surveys i am downloading at the moment are from a site called promap and are DSM Type?
Thanks for reading this message and please excuse my ignorance on the Subject

19 REPLIES 19
Message 2 of 20
Hidden_Brain
in reply to: Anonymous

STEP 1: start new drawing with a out of the box NCS template

STEP 2: create your surface (or import into this drawing)

STEP 3: surface properties>analysis tab > run a slope analysis for desired intervals, set colors as necessary.

STEP 4: assign SLOPE BANDING style to your surface to see the slope colors

Tags (1)
Message 3 of 20
Anonymous
in reply to: Hidden_Brain

Thanks for the Reply, I have created the surface from a 3D Polyline Survey,
(although it did come up with many error messages during creation)
I have completed the slope analysis and it has filled all the slopes as one colour, 
How do i go about applying the "Slope Banding" 
Thanks again for your help

Message 4 of 20
Anonymous

This is the Error Messages i am getting when trying to make a surface

Message 5 of 20
Hidden_Brain