AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
New Member
Alpine_Lake
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 1 of 5 (192 Views)

Problem with surface : No points listed

192 Views, 4 Replies
11-01-2012 12:13 PM

Hello,
          I'm working with Ciivil 3D 2010. I've open a drawing with an existing surface that represent final ground elevation. When I check points or points groups, nothing is listed??? It's seem that points list had dissappeared. In an other drawings, I have a similar problem : I see points of existing grounds, but I cannot see points list or use the points of what I am seeing on the screen to create a surface... Does anyone already have a similar problems??

Thanks in advance!
Sincerely!

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
sjg
Posts: 534
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Message 2 of 5 (180 Views)

Re: Problem with surface : No points listed

11-01-2012 12:36 PM in reply to: Alpine_Lake
Are you sure they aren't just the points generated from the surface. Check your surface style to see if Points are on.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
New Member
Alpine_Lake
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-01-2012
Message 3 of 5 (173 Views)

Re: Problem with surface : No points listed

11-01-2012 12:54 PM in reply to: sjg

In one case, I see that points effectively were off into surface style. Does the point list generated from the surface can be display somewhere? Thanks Steve!

In other case, I have a drawing without surface and  points list, but I see all the objects on the screen. I've posted a picture in my previous post.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,872
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 4 of 5 (164 Views)

Re: Problem with surface : No points listed

11-01-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: Alpine_Lake

Check the definition of the surface to see if it was actually created from points.

 

Allen

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,747
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 5 of 5 (142 Views)

Re: Problem with surface : No points listed

11-01-2012 09:44 PM in reply to: Alpine_Lake
That looks like a surface made from LiDAR points. If so, it's highly unlikely there are points in the drawing. Look in the surface's properties dialog, definition tab. And attach a screen capture of it. I'm guessing you'll see "points from file" or something like that. If true, your points are in a text file.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.