Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Problem with Surface from Grade

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
mwjermaine1
338 Views, 3 Replies

Problem with Surface from Grade

Hi All,

I'm a bit of newbie when it comes to Civil 3D. My shop doesn't use it too often and I'm trying learn largely on my own.

I'm working on a grading plan which excavates down from just outside the waterline of an existing pond. When I create a surface from the grading, it looks like a whole bunch of strange breaklines have been added, messing up the surface. I thought it might be the mid ordinate distance but changing that doesn't seem to fix it it. Interestingly, when I grade from the original waterline, this doesn't seem to happen.

Here is my workffow, a picture of the result is shown below.

1. Turned the current waterline into a featureline.

2. Created new featureline by offseting outside that featurline by 3.16 ft.

3. From new featureline, grade down 10 feet at 3:1

4. Create new surface using grading.

The grading lines (shown in white) look correct. But when I create the surface (green and yellow), it is all messed up.

I've been banging my head against this for a while now. Sadly, banging harder doesn't seem to help. I have a feeling it's something simple I just don't understand.

Any thoughts?

Bad Grading.png

3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Joe-Bouza
in reply to: mwjermaine1

@mwjermaine1 wrote:

Hi All,

I'm a bit of newbie when it comes to Civil 3D. My shop doesn't use it too often and I'm trying learn largely on my own.