AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 1 of 7 (272 Views)

PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

272 Views, 6 Replies
09-27-2013 03:39 PM

I created all of my points that i imported into their own category ex. CL, CONC, GND, FLPIPE etc. First thing i did was create a point group and labeled it NO DISPLAY and added all the points into that point group. I then turn that point groups point style and point label style to "none." everything was alright. I then created a surface, and when i view the surface, i have a spiked elevation. i then check that point and noticed the elevation is 1000 feet more than the points surrounding it. so i go to the .txt file and change it. After that I then re-import the points. Then i get a pop up to rebuild my surface, which i did. Then under all my point groups i had a little icon telling me to update all my points, which i did. Then my spiked elevations went away. Now when I change the hierarchy of the groups for example I arrange all the point groups under the NO DISPLAY group, for some odd reason my FCOR group is still being displayed. What seems to cause this? How can it be fixed?

 

F.Y.I. THE POINT THAT HAD A SPIKED ELEVATION OF 1000 FEET MORE IS PNT # 1199, ELEVATION 6960.53 (IS SUPPOSE TO BE 5960.53) AND DESCRIPTION FLPIPE.

 

THANKS

*Expert Elite*
BrianHailey
Posts: 2,859
Registered: ‎04-27-2005
Message 2 of 7 (269 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

09-27-2013 03:42 PM in reply to: EJMartinez

Every once in a while I'll see the point group reorder not change the display immediately. A regen of the drawing usually fixes this.

Brian Hailey
CAD-1.com
My Blog
Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 3 of 7 (262 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

09-27-2013 03:55 PM in reply to: BrianHailey

that aint the case with this. ive done a regenall and still nothing has changed. still have the same problem

Valued Mentor
dmartin
Posts: 409
Registered: ‎04-09-2013
Message 4 of 7 (205 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

09-28-2013 07:23 AM in reply to: EJMartinez

Look at the propertys of the point in the drawing. The point label tyle should say default, if it says anything other than default it will over ride what the primary point group is telling it to be.

Thanks,
Dave

Civil 3D 2013
HP Z400 Workstation
6GB of RAM
296GB HDD
ATI FirePro V5700(FireGL)
Win 7 Home Professional
Please use Kudos Where Deserved



*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,525
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 5 of 7 (174 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

09-30-2013 11:41 AM in reply to: EJMartinez
Do you have the overrides set in the NO DISPLAY group?


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
doni49
Posts: 2,019
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 6 of 7 (144 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

10-01-2013 10:49 AM in reply to: troma

Can you post your dwg file?  If it's really large, try removing all the graphics except the points and purge.  That should shrink the file to make it small enough while still allowing us to see the problem.

 

EDIT:  Don't forget to SAVE your file first and then do a Save As.  Post the new file.  I wouldn't want you to damage your working file.

Don Ireland



If a reply solves your issue, please remember to click on "Accept as Solution". This will help other users looking to solve a similar issue. Thank you.






Forum links:
AutoCAD 2013/2014/2015
AutoCAD 2010/2011/2012

AutoLISP, VB and other AutoCAD customization


Civil 3D General
Civil 3d Customization


Other Helpful links:
My File is too large to post or I can't post it due to privacy issues!
Active Contributor
EJMartinez
Posts: 48
Registered: ‎09-18-2013
Message 7 of 7 (111 Views)

Re: PROBLEM WITH MY POINT GROUPS PROPERTIES

10-07-2013 03:34 PM in reply to: dmartin

here is something that i did to cause this problem. when i first created points into their own point groups, i then went to setting tab under the toolspace and expanded point>description key sets. i right clicked on the key set i use and selected edit keys. i then made a copy of one of the keys and names it FCOR*. i set the Point style to default and the point label style to default. next i then clicked on the prospector tab on toolspace and expanded the point groups and right clicked on the FCOR* point group. i then selected "apply description key." thats how it all started. the fcor overides the no display point group even if the no display point group overrides all the point groups in the point group properties. i deleted the fcor* description key set and i applied the description key again to the same group but still no change. now im trying to reverse this problem back to the way i had it.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.