AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
bjones9975
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-02-2007
Message 1 of 13 (6,376 Views)
Accepted Solution

Pressure Pipes

6376 Views, 12 Replies
04-16-2012 12:40 PM

I know that Pressure Pipes are a new feature, and they sound great.  But When I try and create one, I go to the parts list, and the only pipe material listed is Ductile Iron.  I've seen other posts wherepeople have the option for PVC.

 

Is there something I'm missing?  I've done a repair, a reinstall and an uninstall and reinstall.

Any suggestions?

 

Brian

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 2 of 13 (6,373 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

04-16-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: bjones9975

Being Civil's blog will help you with this.  Make sure you read the comments.  This is where you will find the Content Catalog Editor.  Link is below....

 

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/04/introduction-to-the-pressure-pipes-catalog.html

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Contributor
bjones9975
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-02-2007
Message 3 of 13 (6,363 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

04-16-2012 01:25 PM in reply to: TRogers

After opening up the Content Catalog Editor the only parts I have incuded in th software is ductile iron.  Do I have to manually add PVC and everything else?

 

Brian

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 13 (6,361 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

04-16-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: bjones9975

Yes.  If you read Being Civil's blog, it tells you how to do this.  When you click on one of the pipes, to the right, you can change it from ductile iron, to your desired material.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Contributor
bjones9975
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎05-02-2007
Message 5 of 13 (6,356 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

04-16-2012 01:28 PM in reply to: TRogers

Many Thanks!

New Member
ken.cueto
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-21-2007
Message 6 of 13 (6,039 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

12-21-2012 10:54 AM in reply to: TRogers

I opened up the "Content Catalog Editor" and looked at the "ID Material" it would only show Ductile Iron.  There's no other choices to choose from.

 

I have checked on Push-on, Mechanical, Flanged catalogs.  It only shows Ductile Iron.

Active Contributor
cwright
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-01-2010
Message 7 of 13 (5,924 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

01-25-2013 05:34 AM in reply to: bjones9975

I, like Ken, am not able to add PVC as a pipe material.  When I go to modify parts lists and edit the water or standard pressure network parts lists, I can't see any materials in the window that appears when I right-click and select 'add material'  (screen shot attached).  How to get this dialogue to show other materials?  I know they're there because:

 

Sourceforge has a sqlite browser which is free.      I made a copy of Imperial_AWWA_PushOn.sqlite and looked through the tables inside the databse.  There is a material table (WA_MATERIAL_TBD) which lists over 70 different materials, PVC being one of them.  (anorther screen shot attached)

 

While I follow the being civil post, it is describing how to change the properties of the existing parts.    Rather than change the entry for ductile iron pipes to say they are PVC, it seems to me I should add the PVC parts.    How to do this?

 

So, I and I'd imagine others need some direction on how to add parts (PVC in my case)  to the catalogs for this new pressure pipe capability.  I looked through the help files and found nothing on this topic.

 

Thanks in advance for any help.

Chris

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 13 (5,920 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

01-25-2013 06:23 AM in reply to: cwright

If you change the pipe material to PVC...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

 

Then rename the string to the left to say PVC instead of Ductile Iron...

 

4-4-2012 8-46-10 AM.png

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Contributor
cwright
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎03-01-2010
Message 9 of 13 (5,914 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

01-25-2013 06:29 AM in reply to: TRogers

Thanks Todd.  got it.    But is there any way to add a record rather than modify an existing one?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,326
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 13 (5,910 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipes

01-25-2013 06:33 AM in reply to: cwright

Here you go...

 

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/04/introduction-to-the-pressure-pipes-catalog.html

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.