AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
kpettibone
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-10-2003
Message 1 of 13 (2,575 Views)
Accepted Solution

Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

2575 Views, 12 Replies
04-17-2012 09:41 AM

The default parts catalog is a good start, but for production watermain design, it is lacking.  How do I add new fittings and appurtanences to the content catalog?  I know how to add/modify existing pipe/fittings properties, but there does not appear to be a way to add new fitting models.

 

Thanks in advance,

Kyle Pettibone, P.E.

RH2 Engineering, Inc.

Project Manager/CAD Manager

This might help:

 

Search your computer for a doc called: PartPublishingWizardUsersGuide

 

On my machine, I found it here:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\Sample\Civil 3D API\Part Publishing Wizard

 

Please make note of the opening paragraph of the document:

This document serves as a quick tutorial for using the Part Publishing Wizard which ships with Civil3D 2013.   This is an unsupported tool which provides a method for promoting an AutoCAD 3D Solid into an “official” pressure piping part that can be inserted into pressure piping networks.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,753
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 13 (2,561 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

04-17-2012 10:32 AM in reply to: kpettibone

As far as I know there is no way.  I have asked the questions and have not received any good answers.  Not to say that it doesn't exist.  I have not found one or been informed about one.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Contributor
kpettibone
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-10-2003
Message 3 of 13 (2,558 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

04-17-2012 10:39 AM in reply to: mathewk

Thanks Matt for your response to this (and my previous post asking a similar question).  I am really hoping someone from Autodesk will actually respond to at least acknowledge that this is an issue that is being addressed.  Frankly I can not believe that more of the C3D community is not making this a bigger issue.  Almost all of the posts I've seen are asking about PVC pipe, but no one seems to even realize that the lack of PVC pipe is only the tip of the iceberg.

 

AUTODESK, PLEASE RESPOND.  How do we add new fittings/appurtenances to the pressure pipe catalog!?

*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,349
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 4 of 13 (2,551 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

04-17-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: kpettibone

Actually there is a way to make your pipes PVC.  However, creating new fittings, I have no idea.  

 

If you're interested in changing your pipes to PVC, and creating custom sizes and such, you can read Being Civil's blog located at the link below.  Take note to read the comments.  I asked them where to find the Content Catalog Editor and they explain where it is in the comments.

 

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/04/introduction-to-the-pressure-pipes-catalog.html

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Contributor
kpettibone
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-10-2003
Message 5 of 13 (2,547 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

04-17-2012 11:10 AM in reply to: TRogers

Todd, Thanks but I already know how to create new pipe materials.  That is NOT the issue.  What I need to know is HOW DO I CREATE NEW FITTINGS?

Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 6 of 13 (2,515 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

04-18-2012 01:02 PM in reply to: kpettibone

This might help:

 

Search your computer for a doc called: PartPublishingWizardUsersGuide

 

On my machine, I found it here:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\Sample\Civil 3D API\Part Publishing Wizard

 

Please make note of the opening paragraph of the document:

This document serves as a quick tutorial for using the Part Publishing Wizard which ships with Civil3D 2013.   This is an unsupported tool which provides a method for promoting an AutoCAD 3D Solid into an “official” pressure piping part that can be inserted into pressure piping networks.

 

 

Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Active Member
lawreyj20
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 7 of 13 (1,516 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

03-25-2013 07:34 AM in reply to: kpettibone

Do you need to download software to modify the parts in the SQlite file?

I'm trying to create new pipes for PVC and DIP however I'm having trouble finding where to look. Had no problem in 12 but 13 seems different.

Jeff

Windows 7, C3d 2012, 64 bit
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,349
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 8 of 13 (1,509 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

03-25-2013 07:39 AM in reply to: lawreyj20

They did not have pressure pipes in 2012.  You will need to go to the Start menu, All Programs, Autodesk, AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013, Content Catalog Editor. This is where you change your pipe material for pressure pipes.  Make sure you change the fittings to the same material as well, or it will not work correctly.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
lawreyj20
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎03-22-2013
Message 9 of 13 (1,493 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

03-25-2013 09:35 AM in reply to: TRogers

Any tip on how to add hydrants?

Jeff

Windows 7, C3d 2012, 64 bit
*Expert Elite*
TRogers
Posts: 1,349
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Message 10 of 13 (1,485 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings?

03-25-2013 09:49 AM in reply to: lawreyj20

Unfortunately that's out of my realm.  Read Dana's post on how to browse and find instructions on this.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.