AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
kpettibone
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-10-2003
Message 1 of 20 (6,716 Views)
Accepted Solution

Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catalog?

6716 Views, 19 Replies
04-04-2012 03:18 PM

I realize the C3D 2013 has just been released, but hoping that someone involved in the beta or Autodesk employee can offer some guidance.  The default parts catalog is a good start, but for production watermain design, it is lacking.  Therefore, I am trying to determine how do add additional content to the parts library.  

 

I have explored the Content Catalog Editor and have been able to add new pipe materials, but it appears that the only way that I can import a part is with a .CONTENT file.  Is there any documentation on how this file is supposed to be configured or created?  Is there any documentation on the Content Catalog Editor in general?  We need to be able to add new pipe, fittings, valves, appurtanences in order to make this new feature usable in a production environment.

 

Thanks in advance,

Kyle Pettibone, P.E.

RH2 Engineering, Inc.

Project Manager/CAD Manager

 

 

So I got a little more information from the developer.

 

He says:

By authoring, we provide a command (PUBLISHPARTCONTENT) that allows you to promote any 3D Solid in AutoCAD to a .CONTENT file which can be consumed by the catalog editor application to add to a pressure catalog. 

 

Search your computer for a doc called: PartPublishingWizardUsersGuide

 

On my machine, I found it here:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\Sample\Civil 3D API\Part Publishing Wizard

 

 

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,790
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 20 (6,698 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-04-2012 05:51 PM in reply to: kpettibone
Well, it's not the parts builder. Supposedly there may be a new command to convert AutoCAD 3D objects to these. I have not had a reply on any details about this command.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
New Member
Dodo89
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-02-2011
Message 3 of 20 (6,597 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-17-2012 10:24 PM in reply to: kpettibone

I agree with this, we are currently exploring C3D 13 as a 12d replacement on Watermain Designs however the limited ability to create new fitting based on others etc has thrown a spanner in the works. While the functionality of the pressure pipes tool is good, like what was said above, its limited catalog and lack of ability to edit it makes it difficult to move forward. I do understand this is a new release. However, there has obviously been parts created for the release. They have to be made somewhere right? Access to these features would be more than helpful. Otherwise the tool is quite undercooked and not ready for practical commercial use.

 

 

*Expert Elite*
tcorey
Posts: 2,761
Registered: ‎12-18-2002
Message 4 of 20 (6,594 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-17-2012 11:02 PM in reply to: Dodo89

How's your programming?

 

If ability to create custom fittings is available, it is most likely to be found as a .Net object. You can access the Civil 3D object libraries using one of the .NET programming languages, like VB.NET or C#.

 

I don't want to get your hopes too high; Autodesk often does not expose new object types to the API in the first release of a new feature. I remember Feature Lines taking a few years to be added, so don't go hire a programmer just yet.

 

The Civil 3D Customization discussion group would be a good place to ask.

 

 

 

 

Tim Corey, Owner
Delta Engineering Systems
Redding, CA
Autodesk Authorized Value-Added Reseller
Contributor
BHFH
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎07-06-2011
Message 5 of 20 (6,587 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 03:36 AM in reply to: Dodo89

The catalog is pretty sparse, especially for metric users. We don't get the flanged, mechanical fittings catalogs or cross fittings. Not to mention you can only add pipes for now (I haven't figured out how to add anything else).

Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 6 of 20 (6,565 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 11:13 AM in reply to: kpettibone

I'm not an expert on this, but I talked to the product design team to see what I could find out.

 

They said, right now a user can edit the SQLite database to copy parts and edit the data associated with them. 

 

They mentioned that they noticed this blog post in their google alerts: http://lispcad.com/2012/04/civil-3d-pressure-pipe-catalog-editor/ and that it had a pretty good run down of what is available.

 

I will see if I can find more information on creating additional parts.

Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Active Member
parker
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 7 of 20 (6,559 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 12:09 PM in reply to: kpettibone

How can you get PVC pipe sizes into the pressure network parts? Can't use anything but the Ductile Iron pipe material. Can't add another type of pipe material. No choices.

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,790
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 8 of 20 (6,556 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 12:12 PM in reply to: parker

@Parker

http://beingcivil.typepad.com/my_weblog/2012/04/introduction-to-the-pressure-pipes-catalog.html

 

Pay attention to the comments.

Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Active Member
parker
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎06-10-2010
Message 9 of 20 (6,545 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 12:52 PM in reply to: mathewk

You don't understand. If I open up the PressurePipesIDMCatalog.sqlite file, there is nothing there except this:Capture.PNG

Employee
dana.probert
Posts: 1,261
Registered: ‎04-19-2006
Message 10 of 20 (6,535 Views)

Re: Pressure Pipe - How do I create new fittings and add it to the content catal

04-18-2012 12:57 PM in reply to: dana.probert

So I got a little more information from the developer.

 

He says:

By authoring, we provide a command (PUBLISHPARTCONTENT) that allows you to promote any 3D Solid in AutoCAD to a .CONTENT file which can be consumed by the catalog editor application to add to a pressure catalog. 

 

Search your computer for a doc called: PartPublishingWizardUsersGuide

 

On my machine, I found it here:

C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD Civil 3D 2013\Sample\Civil 3D API\Part Publishing Wizard

 

 

Dana Probert, P.E.
Technical Marketing Manager, Civil Engineering
Autodesk
Blog: BIM on the Rocks
Learn More About BIM for Infrastructure
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.