AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Mentor
jeff_rivers
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎07-28-2009
Message 1 of 5 (913 Views)

Pressing minus key causes window control tool to open.

913 Views, 4 Replies
05-02-2011 11:18 AM

Occasionally something happens such that when I press the minus key the 'window tool' opens.  It's been so long that I can't recall what it's called, but it is the Windows tool for maximizing/minimizing/restoring a child window.  The keystroke to call it up is alt-minus (similar to the alt-spacebar command for invoking the tool for a parent window). 

 

It will happen when I'm drawing a line by station & offset and try to enter a negative offset; Windows sees the minus sign and takes over, opening up the child window control thingy.  Another way is if I try to start the Layer command on the command line by preceding it with a minus sign; -LA. 

 

C3D 2011 ver. 2, Win 7 Enterprise.

Win 7E 64-bit, Intel i7, 12 GB
C3D 2012
Distinguished Contributor
NathanBee
Posts: 209
Registered: ‎12-07-2006
Message 2 of 5 (890 Views)

Re: Pressing minus key causes window control tool to open.

05-02-2011 02:31 PM in reply to: jeff_rivers

Yep, that's been bugging me also. :smileymad:

Especially in the instance when you are a poly line that runs through consecutivly numbered points.

 

Ideas anyone?

 

Nathan

Mentor
jeff_rivers
Posts: 155
Registered: ‎07-28-2009
Message 3 of 5 (849 Views)

Re: Pressing minus key causes window control tool to open.

05-17-2011 12:36 PM in reply to: jeff_rivers

I discovered a fix that seems to be permanent at least during the C3D session.

 

When pressing the minus key opens up the Windows Keyboard Shortcut to resize the window:

 

  1. Click with the cursor in the C3D command line.

  2.  Before pressing any other key, press 'esc' one time.

  3.  Control should now return to the C3D command line, and further presses of the minus key shouldn't bring up the Window Resize shortcut command.

 

 

Win 7E 64-bit, Intel i7, 12 GB
C3D 2012
Active Member
kirstenmhanson
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2010
Message 4 of 5 (765 Views)

Re: Pressing minus key causes window control tool to open.

08-25-2011 10:24 AM in reply to: jeff_rivers

I have this problem as well when drawing feature lines, which often have negative grades.  It's very irritating, hope they've fixed in in 2012.

 

C3d 2011, V3.  Win 7 Prof, 6 GB, 64 bit.

New Member
Bugpop_LJA
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-08-2014
Message 5 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: Pressing minus key causes window control tool to open.

08-13-2014 11:28 AM in reply to: jeff_rivers

I am currently having this problem.  I'm currently between Civil 3D 2011 and 2014, soon to be 100% on 2014.  I have this problem in 2011 and I recently noticed the behavior in 2014.

 

Most of the time I must press escape 3 times in order to get out of whatever causes the control tool to open.

Sometimes all I need to do is press minus, then the next key twice, whether it's a command or a number (the first time is ignored, second will go to command line)

 

Turning off the Menu Bar has never helped

Turning off the Ribbon has never helped

 

Toggling LOCKUI to 0 and then back to original value will often stop it.  Sometimes it's necessary to keep LOCKUI at 0.  Sometimes it doesn't matter.

Disabling contextual tab states will sometimes help

(Options > Selection > Ribbon Options > Contextual Tabl States... > Contextual Tab Display > Do Not Switch to Contextual Tab on Selection)

 

 

 

 

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!