Community
Civil 3D Forum
Welcome to Autodesk’s Civil 3D Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular AutoCAD Civil 3D topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Poor performance Caused by system or program?

11 REPLIES 11
Message 1 of 12
Steve030373
768 Views, 11 Replies

Poor performance Caused by system or program?

I have been running civil 3d 2011 on my machine at work now since march 2010 and I have no end of problems with it. it is crashing 2-3 times a day. I'm trying to get this problem resolved with our IT department. They keep insisting it is a software problem and I'm sure it is a hardware issue. I've attached a jpeg of my system settings. I'm also running the latest version with all patches installed for Civil 3d 2011.

The Crashes vary but ther are three main types:

1) Screen becomes scrambled, and then a few minutes later, civil 3d crashes with the following message "Civil 3d had to unexpectedly close sorry for the inconvienience"

2) Entire system freezes everything stops working including Ctrl+Alt+Del must resort to manually powering down.

3) Spuratically Civil 3d refuses to print. I get the "Attempting to cancel print" message. The only way to be able to print after that is a full reboot.

These crashes can happen at any time. Switching between MS/PS, Zooming, Panning, Opening, Printing ect. with the simplest drawings(Just an image with text) or something more complicated with surfaces and contours. So I can't narrow it down to any one thing.