AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
jzrjimo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 1 of 10 (214 Views)

Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

214 Views, 9 Replies
04-10-2012 08:37 AM

After crating my squared pond (or waste landfill for that matter) I runned a cross section from an alignment running across the the entire pond. The cross section did not show the bottom of the pond. I noticed that I forgot to do an infill to the bottom of the pond so I did it. But, still the bottom of the pond its not showing up in the cross section, just the side slopes. Do I have to delete the alignment across the pond and recreate it? That is probably the only thing I have not done. BTW, I have an access road coming down the side of the pond with a corridor created already and is not showing up neither on the cross section. Please help, I am a senior student and want to graduate!

 

Regards!

 

PD: I am running Civil 3D 2012!

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 2 of 10 (212 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 08:43 AM in reply to: jzrjimo
Is the pond bottom an even elevation? Is the line under your section view grid?

Select the section (not the view) and right click-draw order-bring to top.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
jzrjimo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 3 of 10 (208 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 08:57 AM in reply to: mathewk

Two corners are 0.01' lower by recommendation. When you say select the section you refer to the grid not the actual line? Does creating the infill after the proposed surface has to do anything with it?

 

Regards!

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 4 of 10 (205 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 09:00 AM in reply to: jzrjimo
When I say pick the section I do not mean the grid. You could select the gridd instead but you'll move that to the back of the draw order.

As long as a surface exists in the area of the infill, it will work.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
jzrjimo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 5 of 10 (202 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 09:05 AM in reply to: mathewk

I'll try and let you know!

 

Thanks!

Valued Mentor
KirkNoonan
Posts: 456
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Message 6 of 10 (183 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 11:44 AM in reply to: jzrjimo

Look under your grading tools for "create grading infill" and add that to the grading object

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 7 of 10 (173 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: jzrjimo
In the OP's first post he mentioned that he did that. Unless he was speaking about something different.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
jzrjimo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 8 of 10 (154 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 07:51 PM in reply to: jzrjimo

Ok, I tried but still just show the existing ground and the side slopes but not the bottom.

 

Please see image!

 

Regards!

*Expert Elite*
mathewk
Posts: 2,792
Registered: ‎07-09-2003
Message 9 of 10 (151 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 07:58 PM in reply to: jzrjimo
Does your surface actually exist in that area in plan?
Try resampling it if it does. If the section is not dynamic it will not update when you make a change.
Matt Kolberg
Cansel - Autodesk Division
http://www.cansel.ca/
Member
jzrjimo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-10-2012
Message 10 of 10 (144 Views)

Re: Pond bottom does not show up in cross section.

04-10-2012 08:39 PM in reply to: jzrjimo

Thankssssss!

 

I went ahead and erased the whole section alignment and started over again and it worked. Still the access road did not show up but it is not really neccessary (I just wanted to show off a little bit).

 

I really appreciate the help!

 

Regards!

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Do you have 60 seconds to spare? The Autodesk Community Team is revamping our site ranking system and we want your feedback! Please click here to launch the 5 question survey. As always your input is greatly appreciated.