AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
pseguy2007
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-31-2008
Message 1 of 7 (193 Views)

Points Data

193 Views, 6 Replies
06-27-2011 06:57 AM

Hey All,

 

I've got an issue...maybe an easy fix?...

 

I have a file that I've obtained from the city and I've got a file that I've created based on the as-built drawings. Both files contains points data. Both points contains POINT NUMBER, NORTHING EASTING, ELEVATION.  The real difference is that the as-built drawings, the NOTHING contains ####.## and the file from the city contains ######.####. I used the city file's to import my points in that contains ####.##, after I imported it in, I've got point datas in 2 different areas, if you know what I mean. How do i tell the ####.## to import it in in align with the citys datas?....Please help!

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 2 of 7 (187 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:18 AM in reply to: pseguy2007

If everything else matches, the first thing I would check is to see if PNEZ or PENZ is being used there. Make sure that matches too. 



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
pseguy2007
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-31-2008
Message 3 of 7 (183 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Well,

 

when I exported the points fromt he city's data...it's giving me NEZ...unless there's a step I'm missing?

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 4 of 7 (181 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:30 AM in reply to: pseguy2007

You should get a drop-down with list of available fromats in teh Export/import dialog. Make sure the one you picked is the same one that was already used in previous import. If not sure open up point list and confirm it.

DS.png



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Active Contributor
pseguy2007
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎01-31-2008
Message 5 of 7 (179 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:32 AM in reply to: AlmasSuljevic

Where can i verify the "points list"?...

Product Support
AlmasSuljevic
Posts: 778
Registered: ‎08-11-2010
Message 6 of 7 (176 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:37 AM in reply to: pseguy2007

There are multiple ways, but you can run EDITALPOINTS to get panorama where you can see all your points. You can also check detail view at the bottom of prospector. See for reference. WS.png



Almas Suljevic
Product Support Specialist
Autodesk Global Subscription and Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Please click on "Accept as Solution" if post helped you resolve the issue.
Distinguished Mentor
OMCUSNR
Posts: 506
Registered: ‎04-28-2010
Message 7 of 7 (167 Views)

Re: Points Data

06-27-2011 07:56 AM in reply to: pseguy2007

It looks to me from your post, you have 2 different  coordinate bases.  The "local" one you created (say origin at 5,000, 5,000) and the City one based at 10,000, 10,000 (or state planes or a city datum)  If I'm looking at the ##'s right.

 

So if it's me, I'd bring the city's points in from a csv or ascii file, and then insert the asbuilt drawing, using a common point for insertion.  Are both point groups identical? or do you have different (additional) points in the asbuilt?

 

Once you get the points on a common datum, you can then add any new / different points to the points data base.

 

Reid

Homebuilt box: I5-2500k, MSI P67A-GD65, 12gig DDR3 1600 ram, ASUS ENGTX460 Video card, WD Velociraptor WD4500HLHX HD, Win 7 64 pro.
Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.