AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Member
BombthePeasants
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-13-2011
Message 1 of 8 (343 Views)

Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

343 Views, 7 Replies
04-25-2012 07:09 AM

Dear Sirs and/or Madams,

 

I am experiencing a relatively new and maddening AutoCAD problem. If I manipulate any point, or select a point group, or perform ANY action involving points in my drawings, a "Sorting" progress bar appears in the lower left hand corner of the screen, and if it's a drawing with a substantial amount of point data, it can/will lock my computer up. This is driving me bonkers! Can someone explain to me what is going on, and help me find a solution?

 

Thanks in advance,

 

ERIK

 

attached herein is an image of the progress bar.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 8 (334 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 08:21 AM in reply to: BombthePeasants

Do you have any surfaces or corridors on Auto-Rebuild?

Member
BombthePeasants
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-13-2011
Message 3 of 8 (331 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 08:41 AM in reply to: BombthePeasants

I do, and have always had them in the past, but this is a new problem, as in only about 2 weeks ago.

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 4 of 8 (318 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 10:31 AM in reply to: BombthePeasants

I believe that the sorting message refers to the TIN points within a surface.  The software needs to sort them as part of the surface build process.  Normally the operation is so fast that you never see this message, unless it's a very large surface.  I usually see it with Lidar datasets.

Contributor
watersam
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Message 5 of 8 (312 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 11:19 AM in reply to: sboon

This same problem frequently occurs in drawings where my points are not included in a TIN.  I am also going bonkers.  It seems to be a recent problem for me as well.  Is there a point setting that can eliminate the constant sorting?

 

Sam

*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,133
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 6 of 8 (309 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 11:35 AM in reply to: watersam

The points being sorted are not your cogo points in the drawing.  They are the TIN points which are within the surface.

Contributor
watersam
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-02-2010
Message 7 of 8 (306 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-25-2012 11:45 AM in reply to: sboon

I have a drawing with absolutely nothing but the points I just imported in it.  There's a lot of sorting going on.  Seems that getting out of Toolspace stopped the problem, but that's an issue for anyone who does have a surface in their drawing.

New Member
RichShine4634
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-26-2009
Message 8 of 8 (282 Views)

Re: Point Sorting Progress Bar always on

04-27-2012 02:07 PM in reply to: BombthePeasants

Was having the same issue, so from the Prospector Toolspace, right click on POINTS, then select "Refresh", I have not had an issue since.

 

Hope this helps.

 

Rich

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.