AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,920
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 1 of 3 (293 Views)
Accepted Solution

Point shift on convert Land desktop points

293 Views, 2 Replies
11-26-2012 12:44 PM

I had inserted a Land Desktop drawing containing points in to a C3D 2012 drawing. There was a small difference in coordinates. I used Autocad move and rotate to adjust. This was fine because I only needed a visual reference. Now someone wants the information and I need to convert the Aecc points to Civil cogo points.

 

The problem is that the convertldtpoints command doesn't use the location of the point marker as the coordinates for the converted points. It uses the Northing-Easting stored in the AECC_Point object. Those are the pre-adjustment coordinates.

 

Does anyone know a way of getting around this?

 

Allen
Civil 3D 2012 SP 2.1
Dell Precision T7400
Xeon CPU 3.16 GHz
Nvidia Quadro FX 4600
12 GB RAM
Win 7 Pro, 64-bit

I remember hitting this on one of my very first C3D projects.  My solution: note to self "Convert First, then Move"

Not sure if this is going to help you now though.

*Expert Elite*
troma
Posts: 2,520
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Message 2 of 3 (290 Views)

Re: Point shift on convert Land desktop points

11-26-2012 01:29 PM in reply to: AllenJessup

I remember hitting this on one of my very first C3D projects.  My solution: note to self "Convert First, then Move"

Not sure if this is going to help you now though.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

*Expert Elite*
AllenJessup
Posts: 5,920
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Message 3 of 3 (286 Views)

Re: Point shift on convert Land desktop points

11-26-2012 01:35 PM in reply to: troma

That's near to what I ended up doing. I marked 2 solid points. Then I did the conversion and let the points revert to their original coordinates. Then I did a move and rotate based on the positions I had marked.

 

The only other challenge was selecting only those points I'd just converted and not points already existing in the drawing. I locked the layers that contained the points I didn't want to move and then used QSelect to select all the Cogo points.

 

Allen

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.