AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 1 of 11 (368 Views)

point removal from dwg

368 Views, 10 Replies
10-14-2010 10:07 AM

I have been reading the posts and have come to the understanding that the points can not be removed from the dwg.  I was wondering about the liability issue.  Now that the points are part of the dwg when you send someone (architect, etc) a dwg they get all of the survey data with the dwg.  Is there anyway around this since the points are part of the dwg or is this just how civil 3d is. 

 

Does anyone have any suggestions about how we can send a dwg to a client w/o sending them the points database?

 

I've read about NO DISPLAY point style and point labels.  How do we do this again?  It was a while ago when I made all of our point styles.  Just a quick refresher would be awesome.

 

Thanks for your help in advance.

Distinguished Contributor
civman_daar
Posts: 202
Registered: ‎09-29-2008
Message 2 of 11 (360 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:06 AM in reply to: hladuke

Erase the points, point database is emptied.  Save the drawing, finished.

Product Support
SethHall
Posts: 723
Registered: ‎02-08-2010
Message 3 of 11 (355 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:14 AM in reply to: hladuke

Hi hladuke-

 

A "no display" style is essentially a style with the visability turned off:

 

1182i2303C9B5326471F5

 

Hope this helps!



Seth Hall
Product Support
GCSO - CSS - FTS
Autodesk, Inc.


Being Civil
Being Civil Twitter
Being Civil Facebook







Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 4 of 11 (341 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:26 AM in reply to: SethHall

I figured that it would be that easy. 

 

Now if I send a dwg to another person who has civil 3d and if the points are "no display", since these other users do not have our point style will they be able to see or use our points?  Do our styles transfer with the dwg?

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 5 of 11 (338 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:32 AM in reply to: hladuke

If the other firm has Civil 3D they will be able to change the point to display.

 

If you use the survey database then the drawing will only contain a version of the points. All the data will be there, but you will have the orginal data.

 

What is your goal / concerns about sending the points? Is it that someone can move your points or that they can see your points?

 

Other solutions:

1. Ship them a PDF for DWF file they could use as an underlay.

2. Digitally sign your drawings so that you can tell if they have been modified.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk,Inc.

 

 



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
wfberry
Posts: 1,917
Registered: ‎09-05-2006
Message 6 of 11 (334 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 11:35 AM in reply to: hladuke

This style "thing" has been beaten to a pulp in this NG.  If you are afraid your style is so good that someone else may use it then send a pdf.

 

Bill

 

OR knock the drawing down to an Acad 2000 version.

Contributor
hladuke
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-04-2010
Message 7 of 11 (327 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:09 PM in reply to: peterfunkautodesk

We are worried that our dwgs can be recreated, manipulated and used for somthing iti was not intended for.  It is a liability thing.

Employee
peterfunkautodesk
Posts: 720
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
Message 8 of 11 (317 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:16 PM in reply to: hladuke

You should get with your lawyers. Just about any form of delivery could be reproduced including if you sent paper.

 

Regards,

 

Peter Funk

Autodesk, Inc.



Peter Funk
Autodesk, Inc.

*Expert Elite*
neilyj
Posts: 3,915
Registered: ‎08-01-2008
Message 9 of 11 (303 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 12:47 PM in reply to: hladuke

".... used for somthing iti was not intended for. ..."""

 

I'm intrigued as to what you envisage this might be.

 

Neil

 

Civil 3D 2011 SP1
Win 7 Pro x64
8Gb Ram
ATI Firepro 4800
Dell T5500

neilyj
(No connection with Autodesk other than using the products in the real world)


IDSP Premium 2015 (mainly Civil 3D 2015 UKIE & Infraworks with some limited 3ds Max Design)
Win 7 Pro x64, 500Gb SSD, 1Tb HDD
32Gb Ram Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.6GHz (32 CPUs), ~2.6GHz
NVIDIA Quadro K4000, Dual 27" Monitor, Dell T5610
Contributor
aaronbarnhart2002
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Message 10 of 11 (287 Views)

Re: point removal from dwg

10-14-2010 01:24 PM in reply to: neilyj

Generally we will lock the surface and then erase the points from the drawing before sending it out.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are You Going To Be @ AU 2014? Feel free to drop by our AU topic post and share your plans, plug a class that you're teaching, or simply check out who else from the community might be in attendance. Ohh and don't forgot to stop by the Autodesk Help | Learn | Collaborate booths in the Exhibit Hall and meet our community team if you get a chance!