AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Post 1 of 12

Point Problems

214 Views, 11 Replies
10-17-2012 10:45 AM

Hi,

 

I am hoping someone can help me. I have a surface imported from datadoors (an .asc file added to a surface as a DEM file). I set the drawing settings and the file settings to the correct coordinate system. The surface imported correctly.

 

I need to add some survey data to this file (survey data was taken by a land surveyor). I import the .txt file and the files plot completely out of scale and they do not plot in the correct place. HELP! I have searched forums, blogs, everywhere. What am I doing wrong?

 

I have attached two images so you can see what I am talking about.

 

Thanks for any advice in advance!

*Expert Elite*
1,397 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 2 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:07 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Have you tried using a different point file format?  Sometimes the ASCII file can be PENZD instead of PNEZD.

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Post 3 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:09 AM in reply to: TRogers
I did try that, it didn't help :/ Sent from my iPhone
Valued Mentor
534 Posts
39 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Post 4 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:23 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88
Are you sure the survey work was done in a coordinate system or did they use an arbitrary system (5000, 5000)?
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
6,269 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 5 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:37 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Did the Survey points just plot out of place or where they truly out of scale? If they were out of scale that may mean that the surface is in metric and the points are in imperial of visa-versa.

 

Allen

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Post 6 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:41 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

They were out of place and out of scale. The plotted points were bigger than my entire surface.
 

If this is the case, how would I go about converting the point data into US feet (the drawing is already in US feet?) The survey company is ZERO help.

 

Thanks!

 

Active Member
6 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎10-02-2012
Post 7 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:55 AM in reply to: sjg

Here is an example of a few of the point files that were given to me...

 

1000,-36.224,11920.057,12314.243,TOP PIPE END
1001,119.398,11880.410,12316.470,TOP PIPE END
1002,194.214,11859.853,12311.749,TOP PIPE
1003,230.860,11848.459,12310.418,TOP PIPE
1004,270.701,11832.433,12308.848,TOP PIPE

*Expert Elite*
1,397 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 8 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:56 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Isn't that Lat and Long coordinates?

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
*Expert Elite*
4,599 Posts
912 Kudos
Registered: ‎07-22-2003
Post 9 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:58 AM in reply to: allysonduncan88

Or possibly PZNED?

Jeff_M, also a frequent Swamper
*Expert Elite*
1,397 Posts
169 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-05-2007
Post 10 of 12

Re: Point Problems

10-17-2012 11:59 AM in reply to: Jeff_M

HaHa, good catch Jeff!!

If the issue was resolved by this method, please click on "Accept As Solution"
*Civil 3DJ*
Todd Rogers

Visit my blog here.

     
Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!