AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Contributor
mikerobe100
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-20-2013
Message 1 of 6 (258 Views)
Accepted Solution

POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

258 Views, 5 Replies
11-18-2013 02:00 PM

I import a text file. I look at the coordinate list in the toolspace under the survey tab and the coordinates listed are correct. but the nodes in the drawing are 4 feet off. any idea as to why this is happening? 

Check your Zone in the survey database as well as in the drawing. Sounds like transformation from US Feet vs. International Feet.
*Expert Elite*
sboon
Posts: 2,144
Registered: ‎11-08-2005
Message 2 of 6 (245 Views)

Re: POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

11-18-2013 03:03 PM in reply to: mikerobe100

Post a copy of the drawing to this forum.  Someone will be able to look at it and probably give you an answer.

 

Steve
Please use the Accept as Solution or Kudo buttons when appropriate

Distinguished Mentor
Pointdump
Posts: 724
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
Message 3 of 6 (220 Views)

Re: POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

11-18-2013 05:11 PM in reply to: mikerobe100

Mike,

 

If the coordinates listed are correct, what is 4 feet off? And yes, please post a drawing.

 

Dave

Dave
Mohave Valley, Arizona

HP DV7 Laptop
Intel Core i7-3820QM 3rd Generation Quad Core 2.7 GHZ CPU
16 GB DDR3 RAM ( 2 DIMM ) / 180 GB SSD
Nvidia GeForce 650M Graphics w/2 GB Memory
Windows 7 Professional 64 bit / AutoCAD Civil 3D 2014
Active Member
KirkN
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎04-24-2011
Message 4 of 6 (211 Views)

Re: POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

11-18-2013 06:38 PM in reply to: mikerobe100
Check your Zone in the survey database as well as in the drawing. Sounds like transformation from US Feet vs. International Feet.
Distinguished Contributor
SurveyorLee
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-23-2008
Message 5 of 6 (193 Views)

Re: POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

11-18-2013 08:07 PM in reply to: KirkN

this sounds like the difference in international feet vs. US feet, or at least in SC it's between 4 and 5 feet.

 

 

 

Surveyor Lee

Active Contributor
mikerobe100
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎09-20-2013
Message 6 of 6 (170 Views)

Re: POINT LOCATIONS INCORRECT

11-19-2013 04:57 AM in reply to: KirkN

My zone setting was correct but my database setting was wrong. The funny thing is that I worked in a different project and didnt have this problem. Not sure how it happened.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.