AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Post 1 of 9
Accepted Solution

Point Coordinates

756 Views, 8 Replies
12-13-2012 09:01 AM

Hi! 

I am completely new to Autocad Civil (and quite new to Autocad generally) and am having some issues with the creation of points. 

The file I am working from is a plan drawn in 2D Autocad. I have used it as an external reference to draw parcels in Civil. Using the Points Creation tool / Miscellaneous / Automatic option, I am creating points at each corner of the said parcel. The coordinates for the points created are completely off, to the extent of being negative when my SCU DEFINITELY means that they should be positive. I am wondering if these pointsthat are generated automatically are linked to a different origin (0;0;0) or based on a separate grid? If so, how do I get them to correspond to the same coordinate system as the rest of my geometry? 

 

I am going crazy trying to find the answer, and hopefully my question above is clear enough for someone to help! 

 

Thanks

 

Hey! 

It turns out that i needed to move my chosen origin point to the ABSOLUTE origin instead of moving the SCU only. I did it with MOVE then # in front of the coordinates. 

Thanks for the help! :smileyhappy: 

*Expert Elite*
2,537 Posts
267 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2008
Post 2 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

12-13-2012 09:10 AM in reply to: isabelle_dizface

What User Coordinate System are you in?

Type UCS at the commandline.  You need to be in World.


Credit where credit is due! Give kudos or accept as solution whenever you can.

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Post 3 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

12-14-2012 12:20 AM in reply to: troma

Yep, I've been in World all of the time...

Valued Mentor
473 Posts
42 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
Post 4 of 9

Verify that the zone in your drawing is set correctly - W...

12-14-2012 05:58 AM in reply to: isabelle_dizface

Verify that the zone in your drawing is set correctly - Workspace - Settings tab - right click on drawing name and select edit drawing settings.

Also verify that the base drawiing you are using was inserted at 0,0 (or the appropriate location) and that it was inserted in feet instead of inches and not rotated

Valued Mentor
Valued Mentor
534 Posts
39 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Post 5 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

12-14-2012 11:26 AM in reply to: isabelle_dizface
Where did you receive the drawing? Are you sure it was even drawn in a system? With your cursor, hover over the site and in the lower left of the screen what are the numbers you're seeing.
Steve Goessling
Land Consultants
Civil3D 2013
Windows 7, 64 bit
Intel i7 2600 @ 3.40Ghz
16 GB RAM
Nvidia Quadro 600
*Expert Elite*
6,271 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 6 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

12-14-2012 12:30 PM in reply to: isabelle_dizface

Also check the UCS in the 2D AutoCAD drawing and make sure that either that drawing is in Feet (or Meters) or that it's been correctly scaled when Xrefd. If it is in the correct units. Make sure it wasn't inadvertently scaled when Xrefed.

Active Member
9 Posts
0 Kudos
Registered: ‎12-13-2012
Post 7 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

01-07-2013 09:07 AM in reply to: AllenJessup

Hey! 

It turns out that i needed to move my chosen origin point to the ABSOLUTE origin instead of moving the SCU only. I did it with MOVE then # in front of the coordinates. 

Thanks for the help! :smileyhappy: 

Active Contributor
28 Posts
2 Kudos
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
Post 8 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

01-07-2013 12:02 PM in reply to: isabelle_dizface

I'm curious what SCU stands for. I've been around CAD for years as a surveyor and I've never heard of it.

*Expert Elite*
6,271 Posts
485 Kudos
Registered: ‎05-21-2003
Post 9 of 9

Re: Point Coordinates

01-07-2013 12:09 PM in reply to: dsigman

dsigman wrote:

I'm curious what SCU stands for.



I think it's the French language version of UCS.

Post to the Community

Have questions about Autodesk products? Ask the community.

New Post
Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the future of the Autodesk Community? To participate in this brief usability study, please click here. Your time and input is greatly appreciated!