AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

AutoCAD Civil 3D General Discussion

Reply
Contributor
Robert_Eriksson
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 1 of 4 (977 Views)

Point cloud classification problems

977 Views, 3 Replies
10-29-2012 07:11 AM

Hi!

I got a problem when im supposed to only use one classification from my point cloud. When importing my point cloud to civil i got no porlem to create a surface from my point cloud (See picture 1). How ever i only want to use 1 of my 3 avaliable classifications. When trying to turn of unclassified, and water from the edit point cloud style i get 0 point when trying to create a surface. (See picture 2). When turning on all of my 3 avaliable classifications i only get hits from the unclassified classification. (See picture 3). Picture 1  and 3 really shopul look the same but as you se it dosent.  Seems like im donig everything rigt but it just wont work for me. Any idea what my problem is? In picture 3 you will se my classification aswell

Im using civil3D 2011.

 

Best regards Robert Eriksson

Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 2 of 4 (946 Views)

Re: Point cloud classification problems

10-29-2012 01:44 PM in reply to: Robert_Eriksson
For some reason Autodesk decided to leave out the LiDAR classification feature on Civil 2013.  You can do it in the 2012 version, but not 2013.  This is from another thread...from what I know that the issue hasn't been resloved.
 
 
Re: LiDAR Classification
05-24-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: harshbarg

Update:

 

Straight from Autodesk Tech.

 

This issue you are reporting with the LiDAR Point Classification Style is a known issue with the 2013 product. I personally had logged this with Development a few weeks ago and it is currently under review with our Development Team.

Unfortunately there is not any known workaround for the time being, as attempting to import the same style from 2012 yields the same results. (BUT it works in 2012) I apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused.

As I mentioned on the phone I have logged this with Development for further review and I have linked this case to it. Per our policy we will now go ahead and close this case, leaving it linked to Development’s issue.

 

Very frustrated with Autodesk.  Why bring out an updated product each year and not fix the pre-existing issues?!?!?  Every update brings more issues to deal with.  Just my opinion.

Contributor
Robert_Eriksson
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎10-29-2012
Message 3 of 4 (942 Views)

Re: Point cloud classification problems

10-29-2012 02:16 PM in reply to: jeremy.2012

You say that i works in the 2012 version of C3D but does it work in the 2011 version of C3D, since this is the version that im currently working in?

Or am i just doing it wrong?

 

 

Active Contributor
jeremy.2012
Posts: 34
Registered: ‎03-12-2012
Message 4 of 4 (936 Views)

Re: Point cloud classification problems

10-29-2012 02:27 PM in reply to: Robert_Eriksson

Sorry, I just assumed you were working in C3D 2013 since I ran into a simliar problem.  I have only used 2012 and 2013, I am no help when it comes to 2011.

 

Best of luck.

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.
Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions or visit the Installation and Licensing Forum to get help installing your software.